Album review
Love Is The Message
Patrick Junior
Shashemene Records

Tracking list

  1. Love Is The Message
  2. Since I've Been Loving You
  3. She Makes Me
  4. Baby Don't Leave
  5. Gimme Your Lovin' (7" Mix)
  6. Too Rude
  7. Shower Me With Jah Love
  8. Trodding
  9. Long & Winding Road
  10. Promise Land
  11. Gimme Your Lovin' (Remix)
  12. Love Is Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Patrick Junior is a native of St. Vincent. At the tender age of twelve he embarked on his musical journey. He achieved his first hit in 1994 with the excellent single Shower Me With Jah Love (also included on this album). A slew of singles soon followed. The best of these tunes are compiled on his debut set Love Is The Message. The vocal delivery of Patrick Junior reminds me of (young) Dennis Brown, but he manages to add more than enough uniqueness of his own.
The opening track is one of the best tunes on the album. Love Is The Message is build around the 'Warrior' riddim and features the sweet harmony vocals of reggae veteran Sugar Minott. This one is followed by four excellent lovers tunes ; Since I've Been Loving You, She Makes Me, Baby Don't Leave Me, and Gimme Your Lovin' (on the 'Love Me Forever' riddim).
Too Rude is catchy tune on a traditional style riddim. One of the highlights on the album has to be Shower Me With Jah Love. It's a cultural track dealing with his love for the Almighty. The next track -Trodding- embodies a lot of power, but his rendition of Paul McCartney's Long & Winding Road fails too make a decent impression. It's followed Patrick's cut to Dennis Brown's Promised Land. Although his vocal delivery is above average, I miss the powerful horns found on the original. The album closes with a nice dub of the opening track.
Patrick Junior keeps things positive on Love Is the Message and the freshness of most of the songs and his excellent vocal skills add to the value of this album. Look for it !

Teacher & Mr. T.