Album review
Love You
Monster Shack Music-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Love You
  3. Waiting For You
  4. Slowly
  5. Let Her Down Easy
  6. Do You Believe
  7. Working
  8. Nothing At All
  9. Lady In Red
  10. Now Or Never
  11. Your Memories
  12. Interlude
  13. Bodyguard
  14. 1999
  15. Daimond Gal
  16. Come Back Again
  17. Love Me Please
  18. Bedroom Caper
  19. Never Let You Down
  20. God Lifted Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Although not everyone is overly fond of the haunting voice of Jamaican singer Ghost one cannot deny that this singer has made some serious impact in the dancehalls in the past decade. In 1998 his self-produced rework of Paul Simon's classic "You Can Call Me Al", entitled "Bodyguard" and also featured on this set, was released as a single and - after being a huge underground smash - became a pop crossover hit in the UK. Through this tune Ghost established himself as the "nice guy of Reggae", whose unique trademark of haunting melody, dazzling command of notes and magnificent display for range would bring him a massive breakthrough.
"Love You" is Ghost second solo album, the follow up to the "Slowly" set which was released some ten years ago. In between he contributed to the "Monster Party" album, due to being a member of the Monster Shack Crew. The "Love You" set contains many of the hits that have contributed to the profile Ghost now commands in the dancehalls. Next to the aforementioned "Bodyguard" this album features also cover versions of Paul Simon's "Diamond Gal", Cher's "I Believe", Air Supply's "Nothing At All", Elvis Presley's "Now Or Never" and Prince's "1999" - in which Ghost is accompanied by Red Rat, Roundhead, Spragga Benz, Nadine Sutherland, Scandal, High Plains Drifter and General B - to name but a few. Spinning Ghost's interpretations of the originals it is obvious that he has the ability to select just the right tunes to cover. However, some self-penned material on this album proves he is also a talented songwriter himself as for example fully expressed in the excellent title track "Love You" and the wicked "Your Memories", delivered over the "Timeless" riddim for fellow artist and producer Goofy. Other producers involved are Salaam Remi (Hot Ice), Computer Paul (Boot Camp), Patrick Roberts (Shocking Vibes) Colin Walter (Collin Fatta) and Carlton Hylton aka Ghost (Monster Shack Music).
If you're looking for a mainly lovers oriented album with a dancehall vibe, Ghost's "Love You" is definitely one to check out!

Teacher & Mr. T.