Love Your Brother Man: The Early Years
Barrington Levy
Trojan Records
May 18, 2005

Track list
  1. Bounty Hunter (12 Inch Mix)
  2. Skylarking
  3. Collie Weed
  4. Moonlight Lover
  5. A Ya We Dah (12 Inch Mix)
  6. Looking My love
  7. (Sweet) Reggae Music (aka Don't Fuss Nor Fight)
  8. Jah
  9. Wedding Ring
  10. Love Your Brother Man
  11. It's Not Easy (aka Trod Along With Jah)
  12. Jah The Creator
  13. Shine Eye Girl (12 Inch mix) featuring Jah Thomas
  14. I Hold The Handle
  15. Shaolin Temple (12 Inch mix) featuring Jah Thomas
  16. Young Free & Single
  17. Give Thanks & Praise (12 Inch mix) featuring Trinity
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 2
This album showcases The Radics at their peak -- sparse, dark and aggresive and it showcases Barrington's distinctive vocal style which was so strong and influential as to go on to influence many up and coming ragga artists a few years later.

Scientist, King Tubby's and Henry "Junjo" Lawes are behind these stripped down primal rhythms and conscious vocal styles. It is at the heart of it, a re-issue of Levy's earlier "Bounty Hunter" album with a few extras thrown in.

"Collie Weed" versions Slim Smith's "My Conversation" with its hypnotic piano hook. "Looking My Love" versions Cocoa T's excellent "Rocking Dolly" and is chanted over the same Studio One rhythm. "Bounty Hunter" is another high point, with its monolithic linear dub and enigmatic chant about being hunted for over 2,000 years -- as Style Scott's thunderous snares collapse, tense and reform in the echo chamber.

This is good music -- but Trojan do not dig up any deep vault rarities here, or obscure discomix 12's here -- which is a shame, because there are a number of rarities from Barrington Levy which do need re-issue.

So, it is a nice album -- for the long term roots addicts though, just don't expect any great or unique surprises.

In the final analysis, it is then, a very good buy for -- and perhaps aimed squarely at -- those listeners who haven't kept up to speed with Trojan's massive re-issue programme over the last five years.