Album review
Loving Pauper
Gregory Isaacs
Trojan Records

Tracking list

  1. Another heartache
  2. Buttoo with the Concords
  3. I need your loving with the Concords
  4. Don't let me suffer with the Concords
  5. Red sun rise
  6. Where there is life
  7. Too late (girl)
  8. Each day
  9. Lonely man
  10. Far beyond the valley
  11. Black and white
  12. Grow closer together
  13. Loving pauper
  14. Look before you leap
  15. All I have is love
  16. Coming home
  17. Innocent people cry
  18. Love is overdue
  19. Don't go
  20. I need your love
  21. Rock away
  22. Ba da
  23. Bend down low
  24. Sinner man
  25. Fly little silver bird
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 4

A high prolific artist as Gregory Isaacs, with a career that spans three decades, needs no further introduction, so let's take a look at this retrospective release.
"Loving Pauper" traces Gregory Isaacs' recording career from his first recording through to the mid-seventies, when he was first acknowledged as one of reggae music's leading vocalists. As almost every reggae fan will be familiar with many of the Isaacs' recordings on this album, it's obvious that the most interesting part of this Trojan Records' release concerns the development of the vocalist's unique style from the very first beginning (Another heartache, 1968) until the moment he had achieved superstar status on the island with Love is overdue, which sold an estimated 22,000 in Jamaica.
The album combines moments of instant recognition and nice memories with an intriguing insight into the musical roots of reggae's self-proclaimed cool ruler, Mr. Gregory Isaacs. Very interesting and highly enjoyable !

Teacher & Mr. T.