Jet Star
October 15, 2006

Track list
  1. Legalise It
  2. Sweep Over My Soul
  3. No Gabon feat. Beres Hammond
  4. Punchline
  5. In This Together feat. Louie Culture & Terror Fabulous)
  6. Bandits
  7. Visions
  8. Empress Love
  9. Great Controversy
  10. Time Is The Master
  11. What We Need Is Love
  12. Satta Amassagana
  13. It Is Not Easy
  14. Get Down Of It
  15. Too Greedy feat. Anthony B
  16. Hail The Comforter
  17. Come Into My World
  18. Leaders feat. Rasites
  19. Road Block
  20. The Way Life Goes
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
After singing in his local church choir and in neighbouring youth clubs Luciano (born Jepther Washington McClymont) moved to the capital Kingston, where he became an upholsterer by day and singer on sound systems by night. It was by voicing dubplates that his reputation spread, and recordings for Earl Haynes, Zagalou's Homer Harris - who named him Luciano after the Lucky Luciano movie character - and producer Sky High soon followed, although it wasn't until he sang for New Name's Castro Brown and then Freddie McGregor's Big Ship operation that he chalked up his first major hits. "Shake It Up Tonight" duly became his first UK No. 1 in 1993. Over the past thirteen years, Luciano, aka Jah Messenger, has developed into one of Jamaica's best-loved and prolific singers. During that time, he's voiced a wealth of mainly roots material that only earlier greats like Dennis Brown and Gregory Isaacs can rival!

A Rasta revivalist who isn't afraid to tender his hard cultural themes with a gentle hopefulness, Luciano has put together an impressive body of work since the return to roots and righteousness in the mid-'90s. This generous 20-song set from Jet Star does a pretty good job of hitting some of the high points from the period, including Luciano's excellent cover of Peter Tosh's Legalise It, the joyous and spiritual Sweep Over My Soul, the warmly wise Time Is the Master, and the refreshingly positive Road Block a treatise on overcoming obstacles. Also there's Too Greedy, the great remix with Anthony B of Luciano's "Crafty", and not to forget Hail The Comforter over the "Hand Cart Boy" riddim. Luciano brings a welcome integrity to the dancehall scene, his commitment to the spiritual and philosophical matters that give a life buoyancy has imbued the best of his work with an impressive dignity.

An excellent introduction to a great singer.