Album review
Dem No Know Demself
Lutan Fyah
November 22, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Keepin It Straight
  2. Clearance
  3. Dem No Know Demself
  4. Changes Are
  5. Peace feat. Luciano And Taffari
  6. A Mount Of Lovin
  7. Cold Shoulder
  8. De Youth Dem
  9. Who Draw Last
  10. Getto Stress
  11. Black King feat. Jah Mason
  12. My Reputation feat. Al Pancho
  13. My Reputation (Video)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

This is one of the two alleged debut albums (see last week's review of "Time And Place" for the other and a short biography) of conscious chanter Lutan Fyah, born Anthony Martin, who first came to my attention with his excellent "Iniquity Worker Congregation" for Silly Walks . The Gran Canaria, Spain based German producer Andreas 'Brotherman' Christopherson recorded for his Minor7Flat5-label this album, after the already well received big albums "Different Thing" by Turbulence, "Tell It From The Heart" by Luciano and Al Pancho's "Righteous Men", with which it shares the use of exactly the same two riddims to open the album (besides a lot of other Brotherman riddims also included on this album), first it's "Keeping It Straight" over the 'Wadada'-riddim, a live backing recorded at Tuff Gong in Kingston, followed by the as strong delivered "Clearance" over the 'Campo'-riddim, that was also used for Spectacular's "So Long", Taffari's "People Are You Ready", Al Pancho's "Clearance", Luciano's "Babylon Go Down", Mikey General's "Bad Boy Natty" and Turbulence's "Facts". Two strong conscious tunes, however easily topped by the title track "Dem No Know Demself" over the heavily drum'n'bass influenced 'Minor7Flat5'-riddim. "Chances Are" is a fine tune over the rootsy 'Sunday'-riddim, followed by the wicked combination "Peace" with Luciano and Taffari - that was already featured on the former's "Tell It From The Heart"-album - over the 'Harp'-riddim. "A Mount Of Lovin" is a great lovers tune that brings out more of the jazzy 'Private'-riddim than Al Pancho's "Pollution" over it did. The also live at Tuff Gong recorded 'Friedenland'-riddim i.e. 'Land Of Peace' with its wicked trombone riffs by Nambo Robinson backs Lutan Fyah's plea to please don't give Rasta no "Cold Shoulder", before the love-it-or-hate-it 'Classic'-riddim with its prominent classical string riffs results in combination with Lutan Fyah's fierce delivery in "De Youth Dem" one of the strongest tunes on this album. The minimalistic 'Lili'-riddim that was also used for Turbulence's "Marihuana", CéCile's "Rain" and Al Pancho's "Righteous Man" is used for "Who Draw Last" who shoot first is followed by the excellent "Ghetto Stress" over the live roots backing by Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace, the legendary drummer, Andrew Campbell on bass, Lloyd 'Obeah' Denton on keys, Brotherman himself on guitar and with the great horn section of Dean Fraser and Romero Gray, the percussion of Uzziah 'Sticky' Thompson and Pam Hall's sweet backing vocals over the rootsy 'Tower'-riddim. A superb combination with Jah Mason "Black King" over AL.TA.FA.AN's 'Immigration'-riddim, actually a remake of the riddim used for Burning Spear's "Fire Down Below" at Studio One follows, before the last tune of this album, also included on Al Pancho's "Righteous Men"-album, the killer combination "My Reputation" of which the nice video (in which Lutan Fyah wears a FC Bayern München tracksuit!) is also included. Yet another great Brotherman produced album, and another 'debut' showcasing Lutan Fyah's undeniable talent. An album recommended for anyone who likes rootsy riddims, cultural lyrics and strong singjays and all already impressed by the earlier mentioned Minor7Flat5 releases.


/ Souljah Green Beret Productions