Ethiopia We Belong
Luv Fyah & Million 7
Million 7 Sound
January 13, 2007

Track list
  1. New Star Born
  2. Bobby Dem Creep
  3. Coming From The West
  4. So Many Lights
  5. The All Mighty
  6. Blessed She
  7. What Dem Say
  8. Time Traveler
  9. Ethiopia I Belong
  10. What A Blessing
  11. Dready Takeover
  12. Let Jah Sound Again
  13. A Kings Daughter
  14. Peace Confidence
  15. The High Road Way
  16. Overstand
  17. Top Of The World
  18. M7s Lions' Tribute
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Here's another Million 7 Sound riddim release featuring 18 riddims from the Million 7 Sound Celebrity Hornz collabo. The album is totally produced by Seth Theodore of Million 7 Sound and one thing is for sure Seth knows how to blend tasty classic lovers rock alongside a new roots flavor. The Celebrity hornz has been adding their flavor to the pot with most of the classic reggae artists/groups that come through the west coast. They have toured extensively around the world with outfits like U-Roy, Big Youth, Sugar Minott, Leroy Sibbles, Yami Bolo, Cornell Campbell, I-Grade showcases, Don Carlos, and Sister Carol just to name a few. On this album they're adding some of the best horn arrangements I've heard in 2007.

Luv Fyah is a singjay hailing from California. His presence and delivery lives up to his name bringing plenty of Fire and Love on this release were he combines sweet, soulful singing with chanting on songs like "New Star Born", "Ethiopia I Belong", "So Many Lights", "Coming From The West" or "Time Traveler". Luv Fyah's "So Many Lights" is based on Million 7's "Wicked Development" riddim known from the Star Of David but also from the Midnite/I Grade album "Rule The Time" and the new Danny I album "Unchangeable".

While Luv Fyah shows us on this debut that he is more than capable holding is own amongst all those other singjays, the real star on his album are the stellar productions. The dubby sounds and the horn arrangements are well-balanced, they call it a new blend of neo-soul-roots-chant-mash-ups, I just call it great contemporary roots reggae. Too bad, we can't say that the quantity of riddims on this album are well balanced. If they excluded a few songs from this album I'm convinced this release would have hit twice as hard. I'm quoting the well-known architect/designer Ludwig Mies van der Rohe who already said in the 60's that sometimes less is more! Don't ask me which song I would have excluded because there isn't a song on it worth skipping, but more than 75 minutes is way too long.

Anyhow... this release is one of the best of 2007 so far as I'm concerned. To be short "Ethiopia We Belong" is a quality album worth adding to your collection.