Third Ear
Maimon & The Mongoose Band
Skank Records
July 20, 2007

Track list
  1. Come To Pray
  2. 1945
  3. You Are
  4. She's Swayin
  5. Shakin The Tree
  6. All Yours
  7. Clear Nights
  8. Uman
  9. Fever
  10. Puff And Relax
  11. Police Terror
  12. Slumber City
  13. Soul People
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
Maimon Chocron began journeying early on in life. His Jewish-Moroccan parents left North Africa just prior to his birth. They lived briefly in Paris where their son was born, then made their way to Canada where they settled in Montrealís Moroccan-Sephardic community. Maimon picked up his first guitar at eleven, playing mostly rock music, and influenced by the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Bob Dylan. His world was rocked in 1979 when he heard Bob Marley's "Kaya". Maimon soon found himself writing songs, playing with international musicians, and learning reggae from Jamaican artists in Montreal. In 1989, he formed Geoulah, (Redemption in Hebrew). His original songs were inspired by spiritual teachings coupled with the everyday experiences of urban youth. Geoulah's first album, Soul Deliverance, was released in 1995. The popularity of the CD propelled the band onto stages all over Canada and the U.S. northeast. It was during this period that Maimon developed his signature tri-lingual chanting and his energetic, elevating performance style. Skank records approached Maimon to release a new CD.

Come To Pray is the first song of the album, and this slow tune makes you experience Maimon's style. The second tune is 1945, which we already know from the sampler "Crucial Reggae From Outside Jamaica vol 3." Only this is the none extended version, and it's truly sad that this version is not included on the cd. Nonetheless it remains a great song. You Are is a sweet ode to the creator. She's Swayin is a dancing/romancing song, but also a great sing-a-long track. Shakin The Tree is influenced by hiphop/soul music. Clear Night is definitely one of the outstanding tracks on this album, the combination of music and lyrics is nicely done.

The tune Uman - somehow it reminds me of Groundation - over a hard-core roots vibe with the highlight on the voice is delivered in French, which shows he is a man of many languages. Puff And Relax is as the song title displays a tune to relax with. Slumber City shows that you don't need a whole band behind Maimon, just a guitar is enough to notice his strong and powerful voice, also one of the outstanding tunes on the album with great lyrics. The album rounds off with the rocksteady Soul People. Another sweet production by Skank Productions.

Included is a detailed booklet with info and lyrics, "to totally absorb Maimonís consciousness and message".

An album with many different styles of music with a reggae flavour.