Album review
Marshall Law
Wayne Marshall
VP Records-Walboomers Music
29 - 08 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Game
  3. Overcome
  4. Hot In The Club
  5. Zoned Out
  6. Natural Mystic
  7. Taking The Music
  8. Big Flex
  9. Marshall Town
  10. Why? featuring Vybz Kartel
  11. Ghetto People Song featuring Assassin & Warfare
  12. We The People Elect
  13. Captain
  14. Check Yourself
  15. Feeling It
  16. Purple Skunk (aka Orange Hill)
  17. My Wife
  18. Passed Away
  19. Beautiful Morning
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

The roll call of impressive dancehall newcomers from Jamaica in the year 2000 included names like Danny English, Zumjay, Kiprich, Madd Anju, Sugar Slick and Wayne Marshall. Although all these artists have managed to become familiar names among dancehall followers, it's singer Wayne Marshall who has constantly shown good potential over the past three years. Great efforts on some of dancehall's hottest riddims such as "Diwali", "Liquid", "Time Travel" and "Party Time", and notable guest appearances with his musical mentor Bounty Killer on hits like "Sufferer" and "Smoke Clears", propelled his career in high gear. In a relative short period of time Wayne Marshall has built a core dancehall fan base and his popularity seemingly grew with each tune he released. Now the Kingston, Jamaica based singer comes up with his much anticipated debut album entitled "Marshall Law". The surprisingly well varied cd contains a nice introduction plus 18 tunes from some of dancehall's top producers including Baby G of "King Jammy's Productions", Jeremy Harding, Donovan "Vendetta" Bennett of "Don Corleon", Troy Rami of "Black Shadow" and Steven "Lenky" Marsden of "40/40 Productions".
Wayne Marshall lives up to expectations as this most energetic singer treats us to many solid tunes, some of them being real killers. It's his rhythmic vocal style and memorable hooks that instantly attract attention of the careful listener. It makes his songs well worth of hearing, no matter what riddim he's riding. It's striking to witness that Wayne Marshall can perform great party music across hardcore street beats, but on the other hand he also shows that he's able to deliver decent conscious pieces over traditional reggae riddims with all real instruments. Material featured here ranges from "Feeling It", a wicked cut for "Liquid", Jeremy Harding's hit riddim from 2001, to brandnew tunes like Wayne Marshall's own productions, "Captain" and the striking "Beautiful Morning". In particular these self-productions, and also a wonderful tune like "Natural Mystic", showcase the creativity and maturity of this young artist. Highlights on this set are "Overcome", 'Big Flex", "We The People Elect", "Feeling It", "Purple Skunk", "My Wife" and "Why", the combination tune with Vybz Kartel.
"Marshall Law" makes clear that it's only a matter of time before Wayne Marshall aka Wayne Mitchell will join the ranks of the top dancehall acts!

Teacher & Mr. T.