Album review
Freddie McGregor

Tracking list

  1. Mark of the beast
  2. Jah, him never fail I
  3. Love was to die for (featuring Papa San)
  4. Harvest uptown, famine downtown
  5. Brandy
  6. Spread love
  7. Reggae ska
  8. I feel secure
  9. Homeward bound
  10. I need your love (featuring Jermaine Ford & Worl A Girl)
  11. I wish there was a way
  12. Blue skies
  13. Darlin' darlin' baby sweet tender love
  14. Got no time to waist
  15. Every time you smile
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Entertaining the residents of Clarendon, Jamaica since he was a boy of 7, Freddie McGregor is now one of the greatest exponents of quality reggae music. Put to work in the recording studio by Coxsone Dodd of Studio One fame, Freddie's ascent to stardom began. Multi-talented as a singer, songwriter, arranger and producer he has taken his abilities worldwide thus gaining much respect and many fans. This is his latest effort entitled "Masterpiece", an accomplished collection of carefully crafted roots, lovers and dancehall tunes produced by his own production company "Big Ship", using Jamaica's finest session musicians such as Sly & Robbie, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Robbie Lyn and Dalton Browne. A decent follow-up to Freddie's recent chart topper album "Rumours".

Teacher & Mr. T.