Album review
Monkey Man & From The Roots
The Maytals

Tracking list

    "Monkey Man"

  1. Peeping Tom
  2. Revival Reggae
  3. Give Peace A Chance
  4. Gold And Silver
  5. The Preacher
  6. Bla Bla Bla
  7. African Doctor
  8. Monkey Man
  9. Sun Moon And Star
  10. Pressure Drop
  11. She's My Scorcher
  12. I Shall Be Free

    "From The Roots"

  13. Pee Pee Cluck Cluck
  14. Loving Spirit
  15. Koo Koo
  16. They Kingdom Come
  17. One Eye Enos
  18. A Time To Love
  19. Nine O'Clock
  20. Know Me Good
  21. Got To Feel It
  22. Feel So Good

    "Bonus Tracks"

  23. Sweet And Dandy
  24. Never You Change
  25. Gonna Need Somebody
  26. I Alone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

In the early sixties Toots & The Maytals (Toots Hibbert, Jerry McCarthy and Raleigh Gordon) started recording for Coxsonne Dodd, moved on to Prince Buster and finally teamed up with Byron Lee. They enjoyed massive succes on the island, and released the popular "The Sensational Maytals" album. Their succes came to an abrupt halt when Toots ran foul of the island's ganja laws and served two years in prison.
As soon he was released from prison Toots and The Maytals started recording for Leslie Kong, scoring with hits like "54-46 Was my number", Monkey Man, and Pressure Drop. In 1971 Leslie Kong tragically passed away following a heart attack and The Maytals moved on to work with the producer's former sound engineer, Warrick Lyn. Although his output was far from prolific in during the 80's and 90's, he remained a popular artist, best known for his thrilling stage shows.
This cd features two albums -'Monkey Man' and 'From The Roots'- the group recorded for the aforementioned Leslie Kong. All tracks on this album were recorded at Dynamic Sounds Studio, Kingston, Jamaica, 1969 to 1970. By 1969 the new sound of reggae music was in full swing, with its fast throbbing riddims perfectly suiting the group's fervent style. In early 1970 Trojan put out their third UK album 'Monkey Man', including such hits as Peeping Tom, Pressure Drop, and Monkey Man. Their output was so prolific that many of their recordings remained unissued in the UK until Trojan include some of this material on the lp 'From The Roots', issued in 1973. Some tracks of the original lp 'From The Roots' set have been omitted, with four bonus tracks included at their expense. These include Gonna Need Somebody and I Alone, both of which have never previously been issued outside Jamaica.

Teacher & Mr. T.