Album review
Meaning Of Life
Paul Elliott
Tabou1-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Meaning Of Life
  2. Nutten Nah Gwan
  3. Nuh Table Talk
  4. New Millennium Part II
  5. Hype Roll
  6. Religion
  7. Too Greedy
  8. Leaders Mistake
  9. What We Need Is Love
  10. Real Thing
  11. Secret Garden
  12. You Are My Lady
  13. Psychological Warfare
  14. True Love
  15. How Does It Feel
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Roots singer Paul Elliott was born and raised in Watherhouse, a ghetto area in Western Kingston rich in musical tradition as it is also associated with such artists as Don Carlos, Junior Reid and Half Pint alongside old-school producers such as King Tubby, King Jammy, and Black Scorpio. Roots singer Paul Elliott was just nine years old and known as Culture Paul when he recorded his debut single in 1981. He joined producer Prince Jammy's camp soon afterwards and later played an important role in the studio's promotional activities, although his own releases remained few and far between. Eventually he left Jammys for Black Scorpio, who issued his records on their label once Paul Elliott had financed and arranged the recording sessions himself. During the second half of the nineties he attracted attention with a steady flow of remarkable singles for various Jamaican producers. In 1999 Paul Elliott released his debut album "Save Me Oh Jah".
At the beginning of the year 2001 the French record label "Tabou1" unleashes his second album entitled "Meaning Of Life", which collects Paul Elliott's works for producers like H. Wright, Vasco Carney, King Jammy, Richard "Star Trail" Bell, Colin "Jah Scout" McGregor and Maurice "Black Scorpio" Johnson as well as several self-produced tunes. "Meaning Of Life" contains a mix of roots tunes, lovers songs and straight Dancehall cuts. However, Paul Elliott is a roots singer par excellence which makes that he particularly shines when he delivers his ever conscious lyrics over classic rub-a-dub riddim tracks. This can be witnessed while playing standout tracks like "Nuh Table Talk", "Religion" and "How Does It Feel". Other solid efforts are "What We Need Is Love", "Real Thing" and "Psychological Warfare". When it comes to the straight Dancehall cuts - "Nutten Nah Gwaan" (actually "New Millenium Part 1), "New Millenium Part 2" and "Hype Roll" - Paul Elliott fails to make a serious impression. The same goes for mediocre tunes like "Leaders Mistake" and "Secret Garden". The "Meaning Of Love" album contains really enjoyable and above par tracks, but some weak tracks prevent Paul Elliott's second CD to be qualified as a truly great album.

Teacher & Mr. T.