Album review
Meet Dennis Walks
Dennis Walks
23 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Misty
  2. Sad Sweet Dreamer
  3. Down The Avenue
  4. Bless You
  5. Heart Don't Leap
  6. Margaret
  7. Parent Eyes
  8. Drifter
  9. Only Time Will Tell
  10. Party Down
  11. Short Fat Fanny
  12. Your Love Is My Request
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Dennis Walks, real name Dennis Vassell is best remembered for his work with producer Harry Mudie with whom he released the classic hittune Drifter in 1971. A year later the hits, Only Time Will Tell, coupled with "Under A Shady Tree", and Heart Don't Leap, maintained his profile. Walks continued recording with Mudie and in 1974 Count Shelly released Margaret with Mudies All Stars, which successfully parallelled its predecessor. Both songs were used as the basis for the hits "Car Pound Drifter" by Bongo Herman and "Margaret's Dream" by Lennie Hibbert. When producer Mudie's output on the Moodisc label was distributed in the UK, Dennis Walks reached the reggae Top 10 with the cover of the soul hit Sad Sweet Dreamer and the re-released Margaret. Walks appeared as the support act to Mac And Katie Kissoon at the Empire Ballroom in Leicester Square, London. In the autumn of 1975 the UK-based Cactus label re-released Mudie's productions, including "Leaving Rome" and revived interest in Drifter. His tune Drifter was also used to provide the accentuation for the Reggae Bible compilation featuring 11 cuts of the rhythm. In 1982 Walks revived his career when he recorded the chartbusting "Roast Fish And Cornbread" with DJ Billy Boyo, "Shut Up Your Face" with Lee Van Cleef, and "The Lover". In 1983 further hits surfaced when he teamed up with DJ and producer Jah Thomas for "Fisherman" and "Shoulder To Shoulder", both of which demonstrated his fine vocals.
"Meet Dennis Walks" was released in 1974 (when our memory serves us well!) and contains his best works he recorded for the aforementioned producer Harry Mudie. On "Meet Dennis Walks" we capture the singer in romantic style, fully showcasing his excellent vocal qualities. Here you will find the cover of Misty, which was also a hit for the singer, as well as the above mentioned hits. It's nice that they have added two cd-only bonus tracks. The cd comes with the original art work.

Teacher & Mr. T.