Album review
Dennis Brown
Jet Star
09 - 12 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Tribute To Dennis Brown
  2. No Man Is An Island
  3. Stick By Me
  4. Living In The Footsteps
  5. Left With A Broken Heart
  6. Sattamasagana
  7. Love Me Forever
  8. Dancing Mood
  9. Fancy Make Up
  10. The Girl I Left Behind
  11. Just The Beginning
  12. Declaration Of Rights
  13. I'll Never Fall In Love Again
  14. Inseparable
  15. Write Very Soon
  16. The Look Of Love
  17. Dinner For Love
  18. Once Upon A Time I Was Lonely
  19. Go To The Ball
  20. Get Ready Here I Come
  21. Life Could Be A Dream
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3

Dennis Brown has to be considered one of the most prolific and popular reggae artists ever. He was born in 1956 and started recording for producer Coxsone Dodd, while still in his childhood. In the 70s and early 80s he established himself as a major force in reggae music with numerous roots and lovers cuts for several leading producers. In the nineties he remained a name always worth watching out for. He passed away on July 1st, 1999. A whole generation of Jamaicanís and reggae fans literally grew up with his music. A devout Rastafarian and a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel Organization, Dennis Brown was a musical genius and he will be dearly missed. No doubt Dennis Brown (also known as the Crown Prince of Reggae Music) was one of Jamaica's sweet-voiced singers, who has never limited himself to one style. Whether it is lovers rock, roots & culture or dancehall music, he truly could handle it all.
The cd 'Memorial' contains some 21 tracks he recorded for producer Bunny Lee, most of them during the period 1998/1999. Most tracks have been released before by Rhino UK. The albums open with the John Holt tune Tribute To Dennis Brown, his rendition of Dennis Brown's 'Here I Come'. What follows is a kind of 'Greatest Reggae Hits' collection, brought by Dennis Brown in his unique beloved style. Stick By Me is a track he recorded for Bunny Lee way back in the 70's, while the remake of Love Me Forever was recorded somewhere in the 80's. Fancy Make Up was a huge hit for John Holt, here he joins Dennis for a fine remake of the song. The Delroy Wilson tune Once Upon A Time (I Was Lonely) also dates from years ago. All-time classic Dennis Brown tunes such as No Man Is An Island, Go To The Ball and Inseparable are present here, but also complete failures like the remakes of Get Ready and Life Could Be A Dream.

Teacher & Mr. T.