And Friends
Marcia Griffiths
VP Records
November 22, 2012

Marcia Griffiths and Friends - Marcia Griffiths Track list
Disc One
  1. Automatic (Keeping It Real) with Busy Signal
  2. I See Love with Buju Banton
  3. Desperate Lover with Gentleman
  4. Love Is A Treasure (Remix) with Exco Levi
  5. Childish Games with Buju Banton
  6. Dearest with Sanchez
  7. Just You And Me with Peetah Morgan
  8. Sense Of Purpose with Bunny Rugs
  9. I Knew You Were Waiting For Me with Duane Stephenson
  10. When The Lights Are Low with John Holt
  11. It's Not Too Late with Beres Hammond
  12. If You Give Me Your Heart with Freddie Mcgregor
  13. Round And Round with Queen Ifrica
  14. Number One with Gregory Isaacs
  15. Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now with Da'ville
  16. Riddim Affi Roll with Annette Brissette
  17. Oh No Not My Baby with Zumjay
  18. Forever Loving Jah with Tony Rebel
  19. Want Love with Tanya Stephens
Disc Two
  1. Stand By Your Man with Assassin
  2. If Only You Knew with Mikey Spice
  3. All My Life with Da'Ville
  4. Undying Love with Anthony B
  5. A True with Richie Stephens
  6. Woman with Lady G
  7. Check It Out with Tony Rebel, Cutty Ranks & Buju Banton
  8. Half Idiot with Cutty Ranks
  9. Things Not So Right with Tony Rebel
  10. Live On with Beres Hammond
  11. Closer with Buju Banton
  12. Really Together with Bunny Rugs
  13. Give Me Your Loving with Cutty Ranks
  14. It's Not Funny (Cause I Got A Broken Heart) with Bunny Rugs
  15. Special Gift with Lt. Stitchie
  16. Ebony & Ivory with Bob Andy
  17. Stepping Out A Babylon with Tony Rebel, Cobra, Beenie Man & Buju Banton
  18. Watch Out For That with Beres Hammond
  19. Ready To Go with Tony Rebel
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Marcia Griffiths, also known as "Queen of Reggae", has been performing and recording as a top class artist for four decade. Marcia Llyneth Griffiths was born on November 23, 1949 to Joseph and Beatrice Griffiths. Marcia as a teenager attended Kingston Senior School, and was a zealous member of her church choir. She says "I started singing professionally as a vocalist in 1964, for Byron Lee and the Dragonaires band." Her recording years started soon after, at Coxsone Dodd - Studio One where she recorded her first hit 'Feel Like Jumping'. It was while recording at Studio One that Marcia teamed up with Bob Andy on 'Really Together' the first of many duets that the two would record. "Luckily for me, Bob Andy was always a strong and wise person", says Marcia. "He was there for me in the early days and that gave me confidence". Then the pair moved to the Harry J Label, hitting the British, as well as the International charts with 'Young Gifted and Black' and 'The Pied Piper' and recording two albums of the same titles.

Following that duet success, she went solo again on the High Note label with Reggae's sole established female producer - Sonia Pottinger - hitting with several songs including her own original 'Stepping Out Of Babylon' and releasing two albums 'Naturally' and 'Stepping'. Ten years after entering the music business, Marcia united with Judy Mowatt and Rita Marley to form the I-Threes as an important part of the Bob Marley entourage. "Words are not enough to express my experience with the I-Threes and Bob Marley and the Wailers", says Marcia. Marcia gained solo international recognition with her monster hit 'Electric Boogie.' This song was first recorded in 1982 and went to the #1 spot on the Jamaican charts.

Since then she's been working in the studio, releasing records and touring all over the world. She enjoyed her finest moments during her collaboration with Penthouse producer Donovan Germain. He teamed her up with hardcore dancehall stars such as Cutty Ranks, Assssin and Cobra, scoring massive hits throughout the last three decades.

Her latest effort is the double cd set 'Marcia Griffiths and Friends'. It's filled with 38 combination tunes, some of them previously unreleased, all produced by aforementioned producer Donovan Germain. Too bad the set has to do without her classic tunes she did with Bob Andy (although the Paul McCartney cover Ebony & Ivory with Bob Andy is present here), but there is still plenty to enjoy. Besides fresh original material and renditions of classic riddims, we also get treated to some covers of pop tunes. The covers of pop tunes such as I Knew You Were waiting For Me, Stand By Your Man and Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now are not our cup of tea, but we know that many Marcia fans will enjoy these tunes.

Popular tunes are Forever Loving Jah with Tony Rebel, a tune using Bob Marley's riddim of the same name, Automatic (Keeping It Real) with superstar Busy Signal, Live On with reggae vet Beres Hammond and Half Idiot, the excellent 1991 combination tune she performed with Cutty Ranks across Bob Andy's Feeling Soul riddim. With the same deejay she also enjoyed chart success when they released in 1991 Give me Your Loving. The set includes some fine tunes with Buju Banton, another Donovan Germain protege. From 1995 comes Childish Games across the Swing Easy riddim, Check It Out, a cover of Bob Andy's original and Closer, a tune riding the Nanny Goat riddim.

Nice and mellow -- combination style -- retrospective from the "Queen of Reggae".