Midnight Landing
10 Ft. Ganja Plant
August 9 - 2003

Track list
  1. 100 LB. Weight
  2. Ganja Plane Rider
  3. Kneel At The Feet
  4. Let The Music Hit
  5. Shine Dub
  6. Midnight Landing
  7. Chanting Nyabinghi
  8. Mercy
  9. Wide Open
  10. Sweet Country
  11. Righteous Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The ROIR label has a long tradition of releasing reggae & dub with over 20 years of working with both established acts and unknowns who have that unusual music quality that springboards them to wider recognition and steady sales. In 1984, Roir was the first label to domestically release the work of Adrian Sherwood of On-U Sound, followed up with the Suns of Arqa, Mute Beat, Puls Der Zeit, Badawi, Alpha & Omega, Phase Selector Sound as well as historically releasing reggae stalwarts Mikey Dread, Lee Perry, Yellowman, Scientist, Roots Radics, Big Youth, Skatalites and more.

10 Ft. Ganja Plant is collective, a musical consortium, a group of childhood friends making conscious roots reggae music. 10 Ft. Ganja take chances, they experiment and most importantly they are lovers and practitioners of the 70's Jamaican roots sound. Many of the members come from upstate NY where they have been deeply involved in Reggae music for years playing in bands such as Tribulation and John Brown's Body. This band tours constantly and most of their fans are familiar with 10 Ft Ganja Plant. 10 Ft. Ganja Plant has independently released limited edition vinyl 45's, and a classic CD on their own I-Town record label titled "10 Ft. Ganja Presents". In 2001 the band released the ten track album "Hillside Airstrip", which was uniformly hailed by the music press.

They are well known to those "in the know" and their consistent touring as JBB has already brought them an ever expanding buzz following. Craig Welsch is the brain behind 10 Ft. Ganja Plant. He began as a soundman for John Brown's Body before he started producing, writing, playing and engineering. Shunning digital gear, he uses crusty 70's equipment, records straight to two track analog tape, and usually creates his dubs in real time. His motto is : "Go with your ears, forget all the flashing lights and stuff-just go with what sounds good."
Their current album "Midnight Landing" at its heart, is inspired by the recording processes of the great Jamaican studio bands of the 70's (and their American counterparts, Motown and Stax) where a song was potentially written, learned, and recorded in one session, with the band playing live on one track and then being voiced on the second track, with no regrets, and no apologies.

The album opens with 100 Lb. Weight, an instrumental which reminds us of classic Augustus Pablo tunes. The same goes for the song which closes the cd, Righteous Dub. Underpinned by a pumping bass comes Ganja Plant Rider, followed by Kneel At The Feet, which happens to be one of our favorite tunes on this album. To our ears the tune pays tribute to the numerous Jamaican hornsmen, which have played on countless Jamaican hitsingles. Let The Music Hit is an uptempo song, lyrically going back to the early seventies, with a taste of Bob Marley. Musical experimentation is heard on Chanting Nyabinghi inspired by the African drumming style. Further noteworthy tunes are Wide Open and Sweet Country, the latter tune reminiscent of the early Upsetters sound.
Check this one out!

Buy the CD