Walk A Mile
Mikey Spice
VP Records / Groove Attack
April 8, 2009

Mikey Spice - Walk a Mile Track list
  1. Sorry Baby
  2. Walk A Mile
  3. Happy Hour
  4. Meet Me At The Corner
  5. A Little Love
  6. Hanging On To You
  7. Walk The Streets (feat. Hassanah Iroegbu)
  8. Two Spliff Tail
  9. Pull It Up
  10. My Way
  11. This Time
  12. I Cry, You Cry
  13. Hail Jahove
  14. Here I Am (J&L Mix)
  15. Save A Little Bit
  16. Taste & See
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 5-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 19
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
It's been a while since we have heard from Mikey Spice (real name Michael Johnson) albumwise, his last release dating from 2003. For "Walk A Mile" he teamed up with producer Lloyd Campbell once again, who together with his wife Michelle established Joe Frazier Records in the US. What resulted was an album that was certainly worthwile waiting for. Straight from the opening track "Sorry Baby" Mike Spice's incredible soulful voice strikes you and instantly you recognize a lot of wonderful riddims played by the very active and talented duo Mafia & Fluxy. Every next time you listen to the album you seem to hear new things. Whether it are the strong background vocals by the likes of Fiona, Hassanah Iroegbu or Sandy Stewart harmonizing with Mikey Spice's vocals or yet another classic riddim you seem to know, there's no dull moment in this 16-track album of pure magic.

Although this is an overall strong set, a couple of songs in my opinion deserve some extra credit. The title track is a very powerful effort, which fully explores Mikey Spice' vocal capabilities. The riddim used is Max Romeo's "Chi Chi Bud", given a nice relick by Lloyd Campbell, accompanied with some serious lyrics it makes a great song. Another song that stands out is "A Little Love", where if you listen well you can recognize a flick of the 1980's riddim that became known as 'Operation Radication', named after the Yellowman and Fat Head hit song. Nothing less than a masterpiece is "Pull It Up", an extremely enjoyable song with a catchy bassline and additional sax by still going strong Dean Fraser.

When the righteous "Hail Jahove" begins it's hard not the think back at Junior Byles' "Fade Away" classic, but the lyrics and the way Mikey Spice sings this song simply are top notch. With all other songs on this set sung in similar soulful style over wicked vintage riddims, "Walk A Mile" is an album suitable for all reggae-fans, and a real must-have for fans of lovers rock and those who have enjoyed the releases over recent years from producers like Donville Davis, Byron Murray, Chris Peckings and Mafia and Fluxy themselves. It also marks the return of a very talented singer, and I only can express my hope it doesn't take Mikey Spice another 5 years to complete a next album.