Album review
Daweh Congo

Tracking list

  1. Travel east
  2. Coconut chalice
  3. No peace
  4. Study Garvey
  5. In America
  6. Together thing
  7. Jah call them
  8. Love is real
  9. Let them fight it
  10. Rythm track
  11. Golden text
  12. Militancy
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Daweh Congo, real name Rohan Graham, was born in 1969. He comes from a musical family, his father being Leo Graham who cut sides for a.o. Joe Gibbs and Lee Perry. Daweh recorded his first song "Breadwinner" for legendary singer Alton Ellis. It lasted until 1995, when he teamed up with Ocho Rios based producer/multi-instrumentalist/managing director Barry O'Hare, before he was able to record his first hitsingles : "Study Garvey" and "Coconut Chalice". Both songs, and a third single "No Peace" are included on this astonishing debut set from Daweh Congo. The words and thoughts of Marcus Garvey are featured prominently on "Militancy". This album will strike a resonding chord amongst the "new" generation of Rastafari orientated reggae fans. Vocally paying tribute to the great Burning Spear, Daweh Congo's lyrics are spiritually charged and certainly uplifting. "No Peace" uses to full effect the crucial "Heathen" riddim, in "Jah Call Them" Jackie Mittoo's "Drum Song" is revitalised and the "Kette Drum" riddim is the musical background for the Marcus Garvey anthem "Study Garvey". Look to Ethiopia... Marcus Garvey said ...but do take your time to listen to this stunning debut from Daweh Congo.

Teacher & Mr. T.