From A Far
Million Stylez
KBC Music/Soundquake - Groove Attack
November 17, 2006

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. All Night
  3. Miss Fatty
  4. U Neva Know
  5. Give Me The Strength
  6. From A Far
  7. Without U feat. Famous & Michael Knight
  8. This Is Da Style feat. Famous & Looga Man
  9. What'z Up Now?
  10. Keep It Blazun
  11. Gimmi A Try
  12. Giving U
  13. Rainy Days
  14. My Pen N My Pad
  15. Lifestory
    Hidden Bonus Track
  16. All I'm Smokin
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4
"From A Far" is the long awaited debut album on Sweden's KBC Music from Million Stylez, born Kenshin Iryo in 1981 with French/Japanese roots, yet living in Sollentuna, a suburb outside of Stockholm (Sweden). After a couple of singles released in Scandinavia and reaching in the summer of 2005 the finals of the "Red Stripe Big Break", a yearly talent competition for upcoming artists in Jamaica with more than 1200 hopeful applicants, ending up after liveshows, TV and Radio-interviews in fourth place his success was complete when German soundsystem and distributor Soundquake started pushing his next 7" "Miss Fatty" and from their Million Stylez busted big. After the "Intro" that shows one half (Japanese) of his parentage, one of his first singles is up next, the fine "All Night" over KBC Music's very nice 'Chakra'-riddim of which the sound is up the promise of its name, followed by one of THE tunes of 2006, the highly 'Eighty Five' compatible "Miss Fatty", Million Stylez booming tribute to the gyals in the dancehall, superb and still guarantees forwards. "U Neva Know" is a great dis against (his) haters, followed by the wonderful successor as single of "Miss Fatty", the great roots tune (with real horns) "Give Me Strength". Next is "From A Far" not refering to either Japan, France, Jamaica or Sweden, but a magnificent praise of an unknown beautiful girl he's been watching from a far. Not a single weak tune from here, in the very melodic and poppy, though still strictly reggae/dancehall (be it with hip-hop and R&B influences) tunes following. A special mention though deserves the hidden bonus track "All I'm Smokin" with it's jazzy piano, that is an absolutely brilliant way of closing a very thrilling debut album, with flawless productions by the KBC Music crew (Andreas 'Mastah L' Larsson, N. 'Niceness' Posse, P. 'Partillo' Alexandersson and Jatrix), and a more than solid performance by Million Stylez. What a sensation!