Goldheart Music
January 8, 2012

Dub Satsang - Mooji Track list
  1. The Emobodiment Of Truth
  2. It's Up To You
  3. Allready Free feat. Desmond Foster
  4. The Earliest Knowledge feat. Mysticman
  5. Somewhere Here feat. Sheya Mission
  6. The Question Who Am I
  7. Conscious feat. Daweh Congo
  8. Effortless feat. Flamman & Zilverzurf
  9. Reveal Thyself feat. Sheya Mission
  10. Go For Gold
  11. Expectation Of Bliss feat. Sheya Mission
  12. A Higher Power
  13. A Zen Stick For You...
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 1-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Anthony Paul Moo-Young, known as Mooji, was born on 29 January 1954 in Port Antonio, Jamaica. In 1969, he moved to the UK and he is presently living in Brixton, London. Anthony worked in London's 'West end' as a street portrait artist for many years, then as a painter and a stained glass artist, and later as a teacher at Brixton College. For a long time, he was well known as Tony Moo, but is now affectionately known as Mooji by the many seekers and friends who visit him.

Mooji is a direct disciple of Sri Harilal Poonja, the renowned advaita master, or Papaji, as his followers call him. Over the last 8 years Mooji has been travelling to Spain, Italy, Germany, Sweden, North America, Argentina, Brasil, India, where he conducts Satsang meetings, Intensives and Retreats. He is ever open to meeting sincere seekers of truth, whatever their background. Satsang (Sanskrit sat = true, sanga = company) is in Indian philosophy that involves the company of the "highest truth," the company of a guru, or company with an assembly of persons who listen to, talk about, and assimilate the truth. This typically involves listening to or reading scriptures, reflecting on, discussing and assimilating their meaning, meditating on the source of these words, and bringing their meaning into one’s daily life.

Jonahgold is a Swedish producer, remixer, sound-engineer, keyboardplayer, promoter etc. He runs the Goldheart Music label on which he releases reggae-based music with strong artists and characters like Daweh Congo, Sheya Mission and Mysticman. He loves unique voices and story-tellers with real artistic ambition. This is what he says about Mooji's music: "I feel I have a new concept of reggae, with an updated version of dub "poetry". I've put music to the words of Jamaican born Mooji, who is a direct disciple of Sri Harilal Poonja, the renowned Indian advaita master". The result is the cd 'Dub-Satsang', a 13 track album that reminds us of the works of Linton Kwesi Johnson, Oku Onuora and Benjamin Zephaniah. The most significant difference lies in the themes Mooji addresses which are based on Satsang.

The music is wonderful, living up to the high standards of Goldheart Music, the label that impressed us with fine releases by Sheya Mission ('Nine Signs & Heavy Bliss') and Daweh Congo ('Ghetto Skyline'). The relation between text and music is well balanced. The sparse dub background is a prefect setting for Mooji's philosophical outings. On some tracks he meets other Goldheart artists such as Sheya Mission, Mysticman and Daweh Congo. It wouldn't be fair to point out highlights or weaker moments, the album is an organic fullness that you either love or hate. Check and judge it yourself at Mooji's pages!