Album review
Modern Age

Tracking list

  1. In a dis ya time
  2. Titanic
  3. Render love
  4. Give this love a try
  5. Surrender
  6. Modern age
  7. Crazy
  8. Sweet memories
  9. Together forever
  10. Happen before the time
  11. Almighty
  12. In a dis ya time ska !
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

In the 70s The Itals voiced a string of excellent roots'n'culture tracks like 'In a dis ya time', 'Time will tell', 'Don't wake the lion', 'Run baldhead run', 'Smile knotty dread', 'Don't wake the lion' and 'Brutal'. US base Nighthawk records released some memorable albums of the group in the 80s, collecting most of these tracks and splendid new material. The band comprised Keith Porter, Ronnie Davis, and Lloyd Ricketts who was replaced by David Isaacs in the late 80s.
Some months ago Ronnie Davis released the 'Come Straight' album as 'Ronnie Davis & Idren'. 'Modern Age' is the new album by original Itals members Keith Porter, David Isaacs, Lloyd Ricketts and newcomer Kada Porter. The album kicks off with a more than superb remake of their 1976 Jamaican #1 hit, 'In a dis ya time', the track that also closes the set in an uptempo ska version. 'Titanic' is a biblical track with strong lyrics and a catchy hook, followed by 'Render Love', praising the works of Jah. 'Give this love a try' is a great song with some irritating keyboards riffs.
Although conscious themes dominate this disc, the tracks 'Crazy' and 'Sweet memories' are fine lovers cuts. 'Together forever', 'Happen before the time' and 'Almighty' are three finely crafted songs with clearcut messages over a pleasant backing.
Participants on board include Flabba Holt, Dwight Pickney, Benbow Cleary, Keith Sterling and Squidly Cole. Keith Porter himself produced the album.
The Itals re-enter musical history where they left it many years ago -at the the top- with 'Modern Age', a beautiful album, with the absence of a horns section as a slight imperfection.

Teacher & Mr. T.