Modern Revolution
Irievibrations Records-Groove Attack
August 16, 2009

Delus & Konshens - Modern Revolution Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Babylon Burn
  3. So High
  4. Positive Vibration feat. Luciano
  5. Caribbean Love
  6. Call The Police
  7. War
  8. How Much Longer
  9. Wake Up
  10. Skit
  11. U R The Wife
  12. Hands Across The World feat. Iriepathie
  13. Be There
  14. Pretty Land
  15. Nah Bad Like We
  16. Be Free
  17. Crisis
  18. Better Man
  19. Pon The Corner (Acoustic)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 17-
Very Good -Votes: 9-
Good -Votes: 5-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 35
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
When it comes to quality 7" singles and full length albums, the Vienna, Austria, based production house of Irievibrations Records is a strong and ever growing force in the European reggae arena. Last year they drew notable attention with the release of Perfect's critically acclaimed sophomore album "Born Dead With Life", while earlier this year their excellent 18-track sampler "Still One Drop" proved to be a very good introduction to the various production works of Bassix and the brothers Syrix and Professa (aka Iriepathie).

And now there's Sojah's "Modern Revolution", again a strong album release from Irievibration Records. Sojah is a duo formed by the Jamaican brothers Konshens and Delus, who besides working as a duo also venture into solo careers. In the past 18 months or so Konshens has managed to attract international attention with his first chartbuster "Winner". Besides that he won the official Jamaican music awards EME and the Stone Love awards in the category Best New Artist 2008. Even though Delus also enjoyed a bit of success with his single "Gang War", he still hasn't managed to equal the success of his younger brother.

"Modern Revolution" is the first official album from the brother-duo, and as already stated it's a thoroughly strong one. After the, by now almost customary "Intro", it's the great "Babylon Burn" that sets the pace for what turns out to be an extremely accomplished, homogeneous collection of tunes that includes no weak tracks, fillers or whatsoever. Next drops the matching herb tune "So High", which lyrically differs from the usual "praise the herb" pieces, and then the first combination tune, the solid "Positive Vibration" featuring Luciano. This very enjoyable opening of the album is followed by solid to great efforts with different moods and themes. "Call The Police" benefits from a riddim that comes with an old skool dancehall vibe. The awesome "War" rides the irresistible "Hit Drop" riddim, while the slow-paced "How Much Longer" is an intense conscious piece. "Wake Up" on the sparkling "Elevator" riddim has remarkable uplifting lyrics, and "Be There" is definitely the best of the few love songs included on this album. "Pretty Land" across the "Caribbean" riddim is a winner, and also "Be Free" -- even if it has to grow on you -- is worthwhile hearing. "Crisis", delivered over the "Lovebird" riddim, completes the round up of highlights.

Sojah's "Modern Revolution" is extremely pleasing to the ear, and thus strongly recommended!