Album review
Moment Of Magic
Vivian Jones
Imperial House

Tracking list

  1. Moment of magic
  2. Bring back the love
  3. Rain
  4. The very thought of you
  5. In too deep
  6. Jah see them a come
  7. Solid
  8. Blackman live up
  9. Stop featuring Nya
  10. One sweet day featuring Debbie Gordon
  11. Baby I jus miss u
  12. Don't go down deah
  13. Love saxaphone (instrumental) Alvin Davis
  14. Thoughts of sax (instrumental) Winston "Sax" Rose
  15. Diamonds, silver & gold (vibes)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

The very talented Vivian Jones is a sophisticated singer with a warm and soulful voice, who's been charting in England for almost two decades now. However, outside the U.K. he's a rather unknown and underrated singer, who actually deserves to get more attention. Vivian Jones records mainly in England and is equally at home with love songs and conscious vibrations. His ability to turn his talents to both matters of the heart and reality material and the fact that you always hear real instruments (being played by some of the best musicians to be found in the U.K. to date) are the main ingredients that make this album such a treat. It blends covers ("Rain", One sweet day & "In Too Deep"), lovers ("Bring back the love" & "Baby I jus miss u"), roots ("Jah see them a come" & "Blackman live up") and some rather nice instrumental tracks too. All in all a solid set with the titletrack "Moment of magic", "Don't go down deah", "Diamond, silver & gold (vibes)" being particular standouts. With this self-produced "Moment of Magic" album Vivian Jones has firmly established himself as one of the U.K.'s topnotch artists.

Teacher & Mr. T.