Album review
Monkey Man
Fanny & Jerry
Dub Beat Music

Tracking list

  1. Six & Seven Books
  2. Can't Sleep
  3. Champion Sound
  4. Monkey Man
  5. Hermin
  6. Don't Push Me
  7. Girls Chaser
  8. Jah Love
  9. The Weed
  10. Babylon We Love
  11. Lady Lady
  12. Stealin' Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Jerry Maytals -former member of the legendary Maytals- has teamed up with his friend Earl (Fanny) Powell for the album Monkey Man. The album is recorded and mixed at Rock Tower Studio, Brooklyn, New York.
The album contains some covers of Toots & The Maytals classics such as Six & Seven Books, Monkey Man, and Jah Love (aka Never Grow Old). The track Lady Lady is fresh reworking of Winston Francis' Studio One cut 'Quit Place', which is also known as 'Johnny Dollar' by the Rolands. Champion Sound has strong soca influences and Hermine reminds me of the soul standard 'Come And Get My Love'. Don't Push Me uses the 'Ali Baba' riddim.
Both artists provide the backing (keyboards and percussion) with the help of a guy called Ruddy. The good harmony vocals are provided by Lloyd Richards, Stormy and Majestic.

Teacher & Mr. T.