Album review
Monster Party
Monster Shack Crew
Monster Shack/VP Records

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Got It Going On
  3. High Grade
  4. Do You Remember Remix
  5. Bodyguard
  6. Do You Wanna Ride
  7. Monster Family Featuring Snakie Trouble & Mega Plough
  8. Flava
  9. Stop That Train
  10. Make Money
  11. Weed Is Life
  12. Wanna Make Noise
  13. Never Heard A We
  14. Brain Food
  15. Monster Party
  16. Mr. Boasy & Friend
  17. Profile
  18. Scream
  19. Dem Time Deh Featuring Beenie Man
  20. Crew
  21. Outro
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Together with the Scare Dem Crew, Monster Shack is the hottest crew in the dancehall at this moment. Consisting of the deejays Roundhead and General B and singer Ghost the Crew - named after Roundhead's residence - have been recording together for about three years now. Finally here's their excellent debut album that will put the dancehall on fire. The album contains a whole heap of essential singles released over the past few years as well as some album exclusive tracks. You'll find Ghost's excellent track Bodyguard in a remix version with the voices of Roundhead and General B added to it. Also Roundhead's ganja anthem High grade is present in a very nice hiphop remix. For the rest it is hit riddims all over on this album. What to think about "Scream" General B's version across "Playground" one of the hottest riddims of the past year produced by Jeremy Harding, who also produced "Wanna make noise" on the hotter than hot "Medina" riddim. On the Colin Fat produced "Top Shotta" riddim you'll find three versions: Roundhead's Weed is life based on Soul II Soul's "Back to life", the combination song "Mr. Boasy & friend" by Ghost and General B and the full crew on the opening track Got it going on. On Shines' successful "Taranchyla" riddim there's Roundhead's Flava and the entire crew is responsible for Do you wanna ride based on the "Knightrider" theme. On Barry O'Hare's "Speed" riddim you will find Make money and Ghost smokes his Brain Food on Shocking Vibes' "Odour" riddim. Finally producer Aiden Jones contributes to the album with Roundhead & General B's Never heard a we on the kicking "Mecca" riddim. Monster Party is one of the best dancehall albums of the year. Probably you never heard of them but now make sure you check out this album !

Danny "Pepperseed" Bouten