Album review
More Teachings...
Morgan Heritage
Heartbeat Europe

Tracking list

  1. Emperor Haile Selassie I Speaks
  2. Ready Or Not
  3. Jah Seed
  4. More Teachings
  5. Know Your Past featuring Cat Coore Of Third World
  6. Same Old Song
  7. Maskel Square
  8. Kebra And The Fetha featuring Laza of L.M.S.
  9. Questions
  10. See Things Clear
  11. Children Of Tomorrow (Rastafari Children)
  12. H.I.M. Come
  13. Seen The Sun
  14. So Much Confusion
  15. Down By The River
  16. Always On My Mind featuring Rae Rajkumar
  17. What We Need Is Love
  18. Helping Hand
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Young warriors in Jah army Morgan Heritage belong to the new wave of cultural messengers who rally around the red, gold and green of Rastafari. With excellent albums like "One Calling", "Protect Us Jah" and "Don't Haffi Dread" this five-piece family group (four brothers and one sister) have delivered serious contributions to contemporary roots music. With the instantly recognisable and accessible Morgan "roots" sound they have managed to reach a wide audience. By now Morgan has become a familiar name to many reggae music fans, not only for the songs of Morgan Heritage, but also for L.M.S. and their father Denroy Morgan for his years and many successes in the music business. Almost exactly two years after the release of their last studio album "Don't Haffi Dread" (Morgan Heritage's best selling album to date), the fans of Morgan Heritage and of modern roots reggae are finally treated to its highly anticipated follow-up entitled "More Teachings..."
The album opens with spoken words of Emperor Haile Selassie I, thus once again underlining the group's close association with the Rastafarian movement. Furthermore their Rastafarian beliefs are expressed in songs like "Ready Or Not", "Jah Seed", "Kebra And The Fetha" and "H.I.M. Come". Besides that Morgan Heritage also touches on universal themes as can be witnessed in for example "Children Of Tomorrow (Rastafari Children)", "Always On My Mind" and "What We Need Is Love". Most of the tracks featured on this set incorporate the inimitable "roots" sound, which every fan knows so well from their previous releases. But it is also quite obvious that the group has taken the next step to reach an even wider and more varied audience by adding various R&B, Hip Hop and Pop flavors to some of their efforts. Besides mainly self-produced tunes "More Teachings..." contains the production work from some of Jamaica's finest producers like Bobby "Digital" Dixon, King Jammy, "Bulby" York & "Fatta" Marshall" and Phillip "Fatis" Burrell.
No weak tune to be found on this album, and although every song has its own merits we just have to point out some of our favourite tracks. Among them the excellent "Jah Seed", the group's biggest selling single to date "Down By The River", the awesome "Kebra And The Fetha", "See Things Clear", the wicked "So Much Confusion" and the wonderful "Maskel Square", the latter a moving song about the finding of the true cross of Jesus Christ.
"More Teachings... " fully showcases that the brothers and sisters of the Morgan family constitute a powerhouse of music who perfectly well know how to spread wisdom, inspiration and information to the reggae nation.

Teacher & Mr. T.