Album review
Morwell Unlimited Meet King Tubby's : Dub Me
The Morwells
Blood & Fire

Tracking list

  1. Sky ride
  2. Bald head
  3. Morwell's star
  4. Jah star
  5. John Bull
  6. Lightning & thunder
  7. Pegasus rock
  8. Morwell's theme
  9. Concord
  10. Jungle shuffle
  11. Swing & dub
  12. Morpheus special
  13. Ethiopians special
  14. Stepping in HQ
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

A dub album of The Morwells isn't exactly the kind of album one expects to be re-released as they never reached the stature of vocal groups like The Mighty Diamonds, Viceroys, Itals and Abbysinians. However they managed to make an impact on the musical history of Jamaica that lasted way beyond their early days as a struggling roots group and therefor it's only fair they get the credits and respect they truly deserve. The Morwells consisted of Maurice "Blacka" Wellington, Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont and Louis Davis. Of those three members the late Eric "Bingy Bunny" Lamont is probable best known as the guitar player who (together with Errol "Flabba" Holt) formed the Roots Radics in 1978. Dub in the album format really started to make an impact on the reggae market in 1975 and the Morwells' Dub Me was among the first to come out that year. Now this King Tubby mixed album has been made available once again as a Blood & Fire reissue with the addition of four extra tracks: a further cut to "Swing & Dine" ("Swing & Dub"), a version to the instrumental "Brentford Rock" ("Morpheus Special"), the dub to "You got to be holy" ("Ethiopians Special") and the Black Ark-recorded "Stepping in H.Q.", which is the dub to "Mother long tongue". All the riddims are laid down in the rockers style; King Tubby's mix is suitably mellow and his use of ambient sound effects sparing and subtle.

Teacher & Mr. T.