Album review
Mossman vs. The World Bank
Dispensation Records

Tracking list

  1. Freedom Transmission
  2. Tumble Weed
  3. Intro
  4. Funky Manifesto
  5. Spanish Alpha
  6. Yin Tin Tin
  7. It's Nice
  8. Flatland
  9. Rebel Tactics
  10. One More Vortex
  11. Leggo Taxman
  12. Beautiful Morning
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

From Canada comes an intrigueing CD entitled "Mossman vs. The World Bank". This instrumental dub-oriented album can be seen as another example of the protest and vision expressed through reggae music, which actually is the sufferer's protest and a voice of progress that would proffer a completely different global vision where humanity is celebrated and preserved for all. The CD was released by Dispensation Records (headed by Mossman himself) as a contribution to the protest movement at a time that concerned citizens of the world and NGOs gathered to protest the undemocratic negotiation of another corporatist trade agreement (the FTAA or Free Trade Area Of The Americas) at the summit of the Americas in Quebec City in April 2001.
"Mossman vs. The World Bank" is a solid album with some real impressive tracks such as "Tumble Weed", "Spanish Alpha", "It's Nice", Rebel Tactics" and the awesome "Beautiful Morning". Strongly rooted in vintage dub music, but on the other hand benefitting from a powerful modern treatment, the listener is treated to entertaining dub pieces. With the exception of tracks 7 and 12 this is music without words, but there's a definite message in the music itself which makes that it keeps you involved till the very end. All tracks are laid by a tight playing live band consisting of Judah Singer and Jimmy X (vocals), Jon Asencio (bass), Tony Labao (drums), Peter Gibson (keyboards), Brendon 'Stack' and Bob E. (guitar), Mat Watkins (trumpet), Tuffy Conqueror (trombone) and Moss (percussion, scratching). Well worth checking out!!

Teacher & Mr. T.