Album review
Most Royal
Jah Mason
Jah Warrior
May 17, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Most Royal
  3. Love How The Youths Dem Live
  4. Rainbow Circle Throne
  5. Can You Feel The Pain
  6. Don't Cry
  7. No Joke
  8. Words Of Wisdom
  9. Rumours Of War
  10. So Long
  11. I'm So Sure
  12. Signs Of The Time
  13. They Say They Love Us
  14. Request
  15. Saga
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Over the past two years or so UK's dubwise roots reggae label Jah Warrior Records have unleashed the acclaimed Jah Mason 7" singles "Most Royal", "Rainbow Circle Throne", "No Joke" and "Rumours Of War". Each and every tune was a real winner, which proves that Jah Mason's association with producer Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco really works. It's obvious that these singles were delicious tasters for a Jah Warrior produced Jah Mason album. And now.. finally.. there's the much anticipated brand new album titled "Most Royal". Singjay Jah Mason, one of the most prolific and highly rated Bobo Dread artists, delivers a satisfaying main course which fully lives up to the high expectations caused by the aforementioned singles releases. After the intro we're treated to 14 solid to excellent "roots & culture" tunes from an inspired sounding conscious artist. From beginning to end Jah Mason shows that he's is in very good shape, vocally and lyrically spoken, and that there's still plenty of fire within him. The great Jah Warrior band - consisting of A. Millgate (drums), Steve Mosco (bass, piano, organ), Jerry Lions (guitar), Richard Doswel (Sax), Dave Hake (Trumpet), Chris Petter (Trombone) and Jonah Dan (percussion) - have laid down fourteen deep roots riddims driven by heavyweight bass lines and incorporating wonderful live melodical horns and strong percussions. Except for the truly awesome reworking of Dennis Walks' classic "Drifter" riddim this set features fresh original backdrops, all of them seemingly effortless handled by Jah Mason. Many great tunes can be found on this set, including the previous singles "Most Royal", "Rainbow Circle Throne", "No Joke", "Rumours Of War" and the new tracks "Can You Feel The Pain", "So Long", "Signs Of The Times", "Request" and "Saga". However, don't overlook the remaining tunes because they have their own merit and are truly worth of hearing too.
To us Jah Mason's "Most Royal" is definitely one of the best album releases coming from the Jah Warrior production house. Not to be missed!!

Teacher & Mr. T.