Album review
Mouse Gone Wild
April 12 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Police Chase
  2. Lick Shot
  3. Jamaicanese
  4. Uptown Dread
  5. Schizophrenic
  6. Wine - Listen
  7. Pussy And The Mouse
  8. American Girl
  9. Divas
  10. American Dream
  11. Hannibal The Cannibal
  12. Ghetto
  13. Eek A Mouse
  14. Jamaicanese (Tricky Remix)
  15. Schizophrenia (Tricky Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Eek-A-Mouse is best known for his unique and unmistakable sound and style, not to be compared with any other reggae artist. Outrageous, bizarre, and uniquely original, few deejays have made as much of a splash in the early eighties dancehall scene as Eek-A-Mouse. Eek-A-Mouse is the originator and finest exponent of that particular form of reggae which has been know as "sing-jay" where singing and deejaying work in and out throughout a song. His popularity in the late seventies and early eighties was enormous.
His curent album is entitled "Mouse Gone Wild". Nigerian newcomer musician Ayoola has created a music bed with hip-hop as its most prominent component and licks of reggae & dancehall, while producer Doctor Dread has collaborated with the Mouse to add lyrics that are at once controversial and up to the minute. The songs here deal themes like schizophrenia, violence, ghetto life and the American dream. We would describe this release as the Mouse's most experimental release to date. For those who are familiar with Eek-A-Mouse from his glory days in the eighties...beware, this is really something else! The high pitched voice his disappeared and the riddims are mostly non-reggae. Jamaicanese sounds like a contemporary dancehall tune, a noteworthy effort by the Mouse! Track 12, Ghetto, is a pumping, scratchy ghetto song while the only reggae song here is Uptown Dread.
Check it for yourself if you like the "new" Eek A Mouse !

Teacher & Mr. T.