Album review
Moving Up
RAS Records/Munich

Tracking list

  1. Wandering Woman
  2. Moving Up
  3. I Believe In Music
  4. Samfie Lover
  5. Poor & Simple
  6. Come On Over
  7. Mister Man
  8. Chant Out
  9. Do Me Baby
  10. Sitting In Limbo
  11. Show You How To Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Luciano, real name Jepther McClymont, started his career in the early '90s with releases on the Sky High & Mau Mau label. He teamed up with producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell which led to his signing with Island-Jamaica. This resulted in the release of two crucial albums, thus making the final breakthrough to a wider audience. Undoubtedly Luciano can been seen as a major force in developing modern roots music. Presently Luciano is a very in demand singer with a great legion of followers. On many occasions at his concerts, he has been known to hand out copies of the Bible and to engage his audience in prayer.
In 1993 RAS Records was one of the first companies to release an entire Luciano album, entitled 'Moving Up'. At that time he was credited on the sleeve as 'Luciana'. The album contained his first recordings for producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell. Now RAS re-releases this seminal album with a different cover picture, but the tracks still posses the same strength as they did then. You can hear a powerful and righteous young singer, trying to make it with a mixed selection of love songs and reality tunes. Very impressive is the hit single Poor & Simple and Samfie Lover is one of his best love songs to date. Other oustanding tracks are Mister Man, Chant Out and Do Me Baby.
The well crafted Xterminator riddims are laid down by Sly & Robbie, the Firehouse Crew, Dean Fraser, Cat Coore, Robbie Lyn, Bo Pee, Paul Kaspick, Michael Fletcher and Chris Birch. Harmonies : Dean Fraser, 54-46, Luciano and Brian & Tony Gold.
So, if you missed this album some 5 years ago.........

Check out these other Luciano reviews :
Reggae Max ~ Luciano

Teacher & Mr. T.