Album review
Maximum Replay - Mighty Diamonds
Mighty Diamonds
Gone Clear

Tracking list

  1. Declaration of rights
  2. The roots is there
  3. Warmongers
  4. The real enemy
  5. Bodyguard
  6. Gang war
  7. Live for today
  8. Bad boy business
  9. Unruly pickney
  10. Heavy load
  11. Fancy lady
  12. All I have is love
  13. Hurting inside
  14. Tonight I'm gonna take it easy
  15. The right feeling
  16. Schoolmate
  17. Cannot say you didn't know
  18. Play girl
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

The Mighty Diamonds perfected a sound and style that helped define Jamaican reggae in its infancy, and set its standards high in the mid and late 70's with classic albums like "Right Time" and "Deeper Roots". And once again the Mighty Diamonds show the breadth and vitality of harmony in Jamaican music on this wicked compilation - which mainly collects tunes from the late 80's - including a couple of still-timely tunes. "Declaration of rights", "The roots is there", "Heavy load" and "The real enemy" are amongst the high points.

Teacher & Mr. T.