Album review
Mr. Bassie
Horace Andy

Tracking list

  1. Fever
  2. Mr. Bassie
  3. Mother and child reunion
  4. Conscious dreadlocks
  5. Oh lord, why lord
  6. Child of the ghetto
  7. Ain't no sunshine
  8. New broom
  9. Come into my life previously unreleased
  10. I may never see my baby
  11. See a man's face
  12. Slacky tidy
  13. Just don't want to be lonely
  14. Funny man previously unreleased
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4/5

Sleepy, aka Horace Hinds, born 1951, Kingston was renamed Horace Andy by Coxsone Dodd, the producer with whom he would cut his most remarkable tunes. His 1972 'Skylarking' samples the best Studio One tracks. The 70s saw him voicing numerous songs for Bunny Lee, and cutting the classic 'In The Light' set for Everton Da Silva. 'Dance Hall Style' and 'Elementary' are noteworthy albums he released in the 80s. For The Mad Professor he recently voiced the excellent 'Roots And Branches' set.
On this excellent Heartbeat compilation you'll find many of his classic Studio One hits like Mr. Bassie, Fever, New Broom and Oh Lord, Why Lord, two previously unreleased tracks and some eagerly sought-after cuts like Slacky Tidy and Conscious Dreadlocks. A number of songs are superb reworkings of American soul tunes like the Bill Whithers original Ain't no sunshine, funkband Parliament's Oh Lord, Why Lord, the Main Ingredient's #1 hittune Just Don't Want To Be Lonely and Paul Simon's Mother And Child Reunion. In the course of time many of these songs have been versioned endlessly by many artists, including Horace Andy himself.
Mr. Bassie is an excellent retrospective album, showcasing the vocal qualities of Horace Andy as well as the producing skills of the man who has played a pivotal role in the development of reggae music, Sir Coxsone Dodd.

More Horace Andy reviews :
Roots and Branches
Good Vibes
Prime Of Horace Andy
Dance Hall Style

Teacher & Mr. T.