Revelation Time
Max Romeo
Tropical Sound Tracs
March, 1976

Track list
  1. Revelation Time
  2. No Peace
  3. Tacko
  4. Blood Of The Prophet
  5. Blood Of The Prophet Part 2
  6. Warning, Warning
  7. A Quarter Pound Of I'cense
  8. Three Blind Mice
  9. Open The Iron Gate
  10. Open The Iron Gate Part 2
Max Romeo might be best known in Britain his pop chart "rude" hit "Wet Dream", but in Jamaica he`s just as renowned for his message music.

From time to time Max has been struck by his social conscience and thus inspired has made a few admirable records, the easiest to recall being "Public Enemy Number One" and "Let The Power Fall" (a persuasive favourite in the last Jamaican general electios), and the best being the terrrific "Three Blind Mice", an original number produced by Lee Perry. It tells of the blind terror that overcame everybody ehen police raided a party one Saturday night "...Baton sticks start flying, man start to bawl, some jump the fence ..."). Max`s vocal soars and screeches echoing the song`s emotiveness, while the slow rhythm propelled by thumping bass and bass drum is a most contagious sound.

Max alone contributes three songs, "Warning Warning", "I`Cense" (weed) and "Open The Iron Gate". Two songs of Prophecy and one which illuminates the disillusionment and vulnnerability of the down trodden youth...("Just a quarter pound of I`cense to help me blow my mind, this confusion is driving me crazy...").

The exceptional thing about this album is the strong sense of emotion, running through anger, revenge, and destruction, that pervade it. "Warning Warning" sums up these feelings totally in a prophecy of slaughter. Meanwhile, spiritually inspired songs like "Blood Of The Prophet" and "Iron Gate" reek of blood, conflict, death and destruction. The former telling of an unholy murder and the ensuing wrath of Jah, the other seeking safety, for Jah children in His Kingdom, from the Armageddon. The rhythms are one-paced and repetitive but they harmonise in mood with the whole dark tone and concept of the album.

An underated, well conceived and executed album that will appeal to you if you take the themes seriously and give the music time.