Mr Satisfaction 1966 - 1976
Carl Dawkins
Patate Records
May 5, 2006

Track list
  1. Baby I Love You
  2. Hard Time
  3. Satisfaction
  4. Get Together
  5. I'll Never Be Blue
  6. Make It Great
  7. Dr Rodney
  8. Don't Do Wrong
  9. True Love feat. The Wailers
  10. Picture On The Wall feat. The Wailers
  11. Hard To Handle
  12. Cloud Nine feat. The Wailers
  13. Pluggy Brown
  14. Rastaman Power
  15. Bumpity Road
  16. Mother's Song
  17. Burnin' Fire
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 4
Carl Dawkins is well known for his contribution to the early "Scratch" Upsetter releases and for his work with The Wailers.

Some of his work has also featured on the Pressure Sound label -- "Burning Fire" was one of the high points on the popular Little Roy compilation album, "Packing House" -- A version of the tune is present on this release, and for roots lovers this will probably be the highlight of the album, with its measured apocalyptic bass, snare/rimshot structures and metaphor laden lyrics. It is reminiscent of Junior Delgado/Pablo's "Storm Is Coming."

Dawkins’ vocal style perhaps has more in common with soul singers of the 60's and 70's, with distinct influences from Otis Redding, Wilson Pickett and Bill Withers.

Dawkins' work also absorbs and reflects the straight-to-the-heart doo wop style of The Moonglows, Five Keys, The Flamingos and The Clovers -- With "Baby I love You" Dawkins fits beautifully into that tradition, contributing his own Jamaican innovation to the doo wop culture.

"Hard Time" incorporates an early Detroit Motown style groove with lyrics of longing and stoicism. The rising and falling bass line echoes the work of Otis Redding bassist "Duck" Dunn.

"Cloud Nine", another tune from the Upsetter, echoes compositions from the likes of Hank Ballard and Wilson Pickett, and features a taut snare workout reminiscent of the JB's "Funky Drummer."

There are some powerful tunes here, but the album doesn't consistently hit the spot.

Though patchy in places, perhaps attempting to cover too many styles and giving the impression of a cursory scratching of the surface -- this album certainly has its impressive, intense moments.

Overall though, you can't go too far wrong with an album that combines 70's soul vocals with Rocksteady and Roots innovations, showcasing a wide swathe of producers, from Upsetter to Harry J and Little Roy.

This one should score points with all the soul heads and Bluebeat/Rocksteady obsessives amongst you.