Revelation Time
Million Stylez
Adonai Music / Undisputed Records
CD / Digital Release
October 25, 2015

Track list
  1. Babylon Is Burning
  2. Never Conquer I feat. Peetah Morgan
  3. Conquering Lion
  4. The Struggle
  5. Can't Stop The Youth feat. Mr Williamz
  6. My Shine
  7. Breath Of Life
  8. Where's My Wife
  9. Waiting
  10. Lost Friends
  11. Equal Rights & Justice feat. Bounty Killer
  12. Revelation Time feat. Lutan Fyah
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Almost two years after the release of his 6-track conceptual EP "Songs About You", for which he teamed up with the big French record label Special Delivery Music, the gifted Swedish reggae/dancehall artist Million Stylez has been working hard on a brand new project, namely his third full length studio album called "Revelation Time".

It was in March 2006 that Million Stylez (real name Kenshin Iryo) busted big with his smash hit "Miss Fatty" (a booming tribute to the gyals in the dance hall), which was pushed by German soundsystem and distributor Soundquake. It was their number one selling song for several weeks and was played at dances worldwide and on radio stations like Hot97, BBC1Xtra, Kiss FM, NRJ, Voice etc. The next year his debut album, "From A Far", which included musical genres ranging from reggae, dancehall and hip-hop to some R&B influenced songs, was released by Sweden's KBC Music. Three years after the release of his debut album, he released his sophomore album "Everyday" on his own Adonai Music label. The album featured a couple of guest appearances (Gentleman, Don Carlos and Busy Signal) and hits like "Everyday", "Love We Deal With" and the cross-over smash hit "Supastar".

And now there's this fine artist's 12-track "Revelation Time" album out on the streets, which - after a few spins - turns out to be a more mature and better balanced album than the ones previously mentioned. Most of the tunes included here contain conscious lyrics about his gratitude to God/Jah, life struggles, and other issues. It's the Heavy Roots produced militant song "Babylon Is Burning" on the melodic "Burning City" riddim that gets things started in a wonderful way. It gives way to the first highlight of the album, the strong roots piece "Never Conquer I", done in collaboration with Peetah Morgan. The powerful voice of Morgan Heritage's lead singer blends very well with Milion Stylez's vocal style & pattern. Another modern roots riddim is expected for a tune like "Conquering Lion", but that ain't the case as producer Costa Rebel has come up with a minimalistic digital throb. Lyrically there's nothing wrong, but vocally it isn't an impressive effort at all.

"The Struggle", which is underpinned by a real nice semi-acoustic riddim, has serious lyrics that keep you involved. The Dreadsquad produced"Can't Stop The Youths", a combination tune featuring Mr Williamz, takes the listener back to the classic 1990s dancehall killer tune "Pirates Anthem" as it was the starting point for the Polish producer's "Modern Time Riddim". Although "My Shine" and also "Breath Of Life" are nice tunes to listen to, they fail to make an everlasting impression. Then it's time for affairs of the heart with the solid "Where's My Wife" across the "Heart & Soul" riddim, followed by the matching "Waiting" on the Damalistik and Djei Gogo produced "Calm & Easy" riddim for Roots Survival records. Both songs show that Million Stylez can also shine as a crooner. "Lost Friends" (about true and false friends) sees the singer in a pensive mood. It's a beautiful song everyone can relate to. The album is rounded off with two very strong collaborations: "Equal Rights & Justice" featuring Bounty Killer, a track that will certainly appeal to hard core dancehall fans, and the excellent titletrack "Revelation Time" featuring Lutan Fyah, which comes across Dub Akom's massive "Way Back" riddim.

Overall a satisfying third album from an artist who, just like wine, gets better with age.