Musical Storm
Matic Horns feat. Henry "Buttons" Tenyue
Sip A Cup Records
2 CD
December 11, 2011

Matics Horns Track list
Disc 1
  1. Beware
  2. Fire & Blood
  3. Fe Mi Hopes
  4. Horns Of Vengence
  5. T.V Temes
  6. Food
  7. Well Being (Tribal Melody)
  8. Top Of The Mountain
  9. Musical Storm
  10. Giddion Fighter
  11. Swing Easy
  12. King Alphas Song
  13. False Judges
  14. Sabattical
  15. Call Of El Shadi
  16. 400 Years
  17. Satta Amassa Gana
  18. Jah Farther
Disc 2
  1. Cold Sweat
  2. King Soloman
  3. Freedom Sounds
  4. Fidel Castro
  5. Exodus
  6. Raama Melody
  7. Turbotronik Anthem
  8. Devout Spirit
  9. For My People
  10. Swing Harder
  11. Dub Generator
  12. Cry Of The Prophets
  13. Promised Land (Horns From Ashmara)
  14. A Wicked Sounds
  15. Yanga
  16. Emancipation Horns
  17. Social Livity
  18. Tena Tena
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 9-
Very Good -Votes: 4-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 15
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Lead Instrument : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
After having mainly shared several 7" and 10" vinyl singles with vocalists such as Roman Stewart, Michael Prophet, Mike Anthony, and Leroy Mafia to name four, all of them released by producer and long time friend Gussie P in the past decade, Henry "Buttons" Tenyue aka Matic Horns finally got his own 8-track (mini-)album called "400 years" out on the streets in 2008. It was followed by his excellent full length debut cd "Increase The Peace" in 2009, which he co-produced with veteran singer and producer Mike Brooks. And now, towards the end of the year 2011, Gussie P has unleashed not only a next 8-track vinyl album entitled "King Solomon", but also Matic Horns' delightful dbl cd "Musical Storm".

The 36 tracks gathered on this dbl cd treat your ears to a fabulous trombone player, whose distinctive style of trombone play has graced recordings from Aswad and UB40 to Gregory Isaacs and Luciano, from John Holt to Freddie McGregor and Soul II Soul to Maxi Priest, since he joined top British reggae band Matumbi in the late '70s. Here he excels on hard hitting roots efforts such as "Beware" and "King Solomon" as well as on more mellow instrumental pieces like e.g. "King Alphas Song", actually a well-done version of "Rivers Of Babylon" and a perfect instrumental for the festive season. Henry "Buttons" Tenyue can truly handle any musical style to full effect, and thus even tunes such as "T.V. Themes" (a great interpretation of the "Hawai Five-O" theme song) and "Jah Farther" (theme song from "The Godfather" movie) are worthwhile hearing. Also great to hear are interpretations of reggae classics such as "Top Of The Mountain" (Dennis Brown), "Swing Easy" (Soul Vendors), "Satta Amassa Gana" (The Abyssinians), "Freedom Sounds" (The Skatalites) and "Promised Land" aka "Horns From Ashmara" (Aswad). There are even two tracks, "For My People" and "Tenna Tenna", that feature the vocals of Henry "Buttons" Tenyue and Black Steel. There are so many must-hears and there's so much ninecess that it simply ain't possible to point out standouts.

Don't wait too long if you're thinking of purchasing this wonderful dbl cd, because when it's gone it's gone, as is often the case with releases on Gussie P's Sip A Cup label.