The Measure Dub
Digital Release
January 23, 2013

Track list
  1. Love Dub
  2. Dub Defender
  3. Hiding The Dub
  4. Fox & The Lion
  5. Dub The Witch
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In the fall of 2012 we were instantly overwhelmed by the vibe and sound of Need2Reason's 7 track debut set "The Measure". This Californian reggae band, consisting of Mathieu Beauschart (keys, guitar, bass, vocals & percussion), Dale Price (drums), Brian 'Gravy' Asher (lead guitar), Sarah Nutting (background vocals), Darby McConnell & Tafari (bingis), made a serious impression with their modern version of 'old skool dub reggae', incorporating hard hitting drums and thick bass lines that lead the way.

And now, a few months later, we are well pleased to witness the release of five dub versions of the vocal tunes that were included on that debut set. "The Measure Dub", which features the earlier released "Dub The Witch", gives the listener the opportunity to fully experience the strength of the riddims. Thus one can enjoy the groovy sound of "Love Dub", the dub version of "The Measure", which comes forth real nice. "Defender" is stripped down to the bone, with vocals and melodica floating in and out the mix. Awesome drum & bass!! The mesmerezing "Hiding The Dub"(vocal tune: "Silent Sufferer") with its wonderful acoustic guitar parts is one of sheer beauty. Can play this track over and over again. "Fox And The Lion" is a decent dub workout of the instrumental "Lion", but it has nothing that makes it real special. This doesn't apply to the eerie "Dub The Witch", a convincing effort that creeps into your mind. The riddim hypnotizes and sounds like a surrealistic painting that comes to life.

Combining the vocal and dub versions of "The Mesure" and "The Measure Dub" releases would have made a great 'Showcase' album. However the digital age enables you to do that yourself, which in this case is a good thing.