Nah Sell Out
Charm-Jet Star
March 13, 2006

Track list
  1. Nah Sell Out
  2. Firm
  3. Motherless Fatherless
  4. Feeling Da Vibe
  5. Child Of Melchizedek
  6. We Shall Never Fail
  7. Born For This
  8. In Your Arms
  9. Come On
  10. Brighter Day
  11. Rasta
  12. Sweet Praises
  13. Don't Waste My Time
  14. Nah Sell Out (Acapella)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Lispy Sizzla-like sing-jay Turbulence (real name Sheldon Campbell) releases his first album of 2006 with 'Nah Sell Out'. Comprising fourteen tracks predominantly in a dancehall style yet at times encompassing hip hop and R&B, Turbulence promotes Rastafarian ideology throughout even on those tracks with a less serious message or slack lyrics.

The opening, title track is reminiscent of one of Turbulence's biggest hits to date - "Notorious" - sharing with it a dark, relentless quality. Two, more orthodox, sing-jay cuts follow this before the bouncy hip-hop of "Feeling Da Vibe" - hardly profound lyrics or an original riddim, but refreshing.

Following tracks such as "Child Of Melchizedek", "Brighter Day" and "Rasta" provide a more aggressive, bashier dancehall sound. It's the inclusion of one or two 'lighter' sounding cuts that provide weak spots, "Sweet Praises" is simply too mellow to fit comfortably with the tracks around it and the a cappella version of the title track, which rounds the album off, feels superfluous.

Thankfully these moments are not enough to seriously blemish the album, while conversely there are few, if any, tracks which jump out at the listener or stand out as no.1 singles in waiting. However this may be no bad thing; nearly all the tracks are at a similar level of quality - but it's a level which makes "Nah Sell Out" an album which is bound to reaffirm Turbulence's place as one of the top artists of 2006.