Album review
Natures Dub
Wackies Allstars

Tracking list

  1. Natures Dub
  2. Jah Natton Dub
  3. Mash It Up
  4. Judgement Rock
  5. Kicking Scott
  6. Rröckfort Dub
  7. Slave Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

This is another superb release in the string of classic Wackies albums that have been (re)released by Berlin dub-techno duo Moritz Von Oswald and Mark Ernestus a.k.a. Rhythm & Sound, as part of their rerelease program of the complete Wackie's catalog. More on their own releases, whether technodub on Basic Channel or their Rhythm & Sound label and also on their classic Wackie's (re)releases can be found here. This album opens with the 'rockers' tune, and in case you wouldn't have heard that, the repeated vocal running over it telling 'Natures Dub, this sound a rockers...rockers...rockers...me say a rockers...rockers...' tells it all in "Natures Dub". "Jah Natton Dub" is more like the kind of dub we've got accustomed to listening Wackies' releases, with snatches of falsetto vocals over a heavy bassline. An even better bassline guides us through "Mash It Up", before a beautiful horn theme and a guitar far in the back of the mix embellish "Judgement Rock". "Kicking Scott" is the closest to a 'mainstream early 80s dub' ever to come out of Wackies studio I believe. "Rröckfort Dub" is of course based on the immortal Studio One instrumental, with a prominent role for Clive 'Azul' Hunt on flute doing the famous horn riffs. The track "Slave Dub" closing this album in fine style is a dub version of the fabulous "Sons Of Slaves" that Junior Delgado recorded for Lee Perry at his famous Black Ark. Another essential Wackies dub album thanks to Rhythm & Sound rereleased.