Negril To Kingston City
Transdub Massiv
June 30, 2006

Track list
  1. Introdubbing
  2. Hill & Gully
  3. Nex Level Interlude
  4. Negril To Kingston City
  5. Dub Is The Foundation
  6. On White River
  7. Moonrise Dub
  8. 40 Days
  9. Nex Level Interlude 2
  10. Mi Nuh Waa Dat
  11. Intracontinental Sky Juice
  12. Under The Thatch
  13. Negril To Kingston City (the Return Trip)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 3 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2
This album's production team have been involved in JA dub as well as afro funk projects and have worked with David Byrne -- and all these influences show, and very favourably too.

If you are interested in an album that fuses elements of Eno/Byrne's "Remain In Light" with "Sly and Robbie’s Dub Experience" (engineered by the under rated, often over looked Paul Groucho Smykle) then "Negril To Kingston City " will probably interest you.

This album features the commendable and apparently effortless talents of Ce'cile and Meshell Ndegeocello, both of whom offer the album depth and an elegiac quality, bringing to mind Grace Jones/Sly and Robbie music like the "Nightclubbing" disc.

Sizzla contributes too, and though he has been sounding somewhat weary of late on plastic -- his contributions here are succinct and sparsely apposite.

It's a relief to say that production wise, "Negril To Kingston City" is far from sonically overwhelming -- these guys aren't trying to compete with bass bombast, to blow the listener down with crudely tumultuous, clamorous, sterile digi drums, but rather it seems, the engineering style and compositions aspire to touch the listener -- through moods and spacious dynamics.

The album doesn't consistently work -- some of the samples sound gratuitous and clichéd with perhaps too many comparisons/similarities to tunes like Prince Alla's "Great Stone", a style which has been plundered far, far too many times by now, surely. (People have been doing it for over a decade now, done to distraction -- please, no more.)

But the best of this album -- is a pleasant breathe of fresh air, featuring some inspired, original vocals and b lines that aspire to difference and a degree of uniqueness, and are not just "dub by numbers".

Future collaborations with Ce'cile and Meshell Ndegeocello are awaited with some anticipation, and could be a step forward in taking reggae music onwards and upwards.