Album review
Never Forget Jah
Peter Broggs
29 - 04 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Vank Out
  2. African Sister
  3. Jah Golden Throne
  4. Don't Get Weary Rastaman
  5. Never Forget Jah
  6. Jah Jah Voice Is Calling
  7. International Farmer
  8. International Farmer Dub
  9. Rastafari Liveth
  10. No Ism Pon De Riddim
  11. Give Thanks
  12. Rastaman Chant Niahbinga
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

Peter Broggs is a singer and songwriter who finds his inspiration in his love for Jah Rastafari. Before he started his recording career with RAS records he actually voiced an album for Eric Lamont, better known as Binghi Bunny from the Morwells and guitar player with The Roots Radics. That album is called "Progressive Youth' and RAS Records released it for the first time on cd a couple of years back. Under the personal guidance of Dr. Dread of RAS records he has recorded several roots albums in the early 80s such as "Rastafari Liveth", "Cease The War" and "Reasoning". The excellent "Rejoice" set, an album with a contemporary sound, but still filled with musical messages, was released in 1997.
Although in reggae business for more than two decades by now, Peter Broggs still doesn't get the kind of recognition he deserves. Although he has recorded several fine roots albums throughout his career, it is striking that acclaimed books dealing with the history of reggae music do not contain any information about this singer's career, which makes the predicate "underrated" - often preceding this singer's name - a real understatement. "Ignored" would be a far better and fitting word.
The collection of songs found on 'Never Forget Jah' -subtitled 'The Early Years 76-86'- were recorded in the period 1976 to 1986. Some three songs of the 'Progressive Youth' album are include here as well, and the rest of the songs are beautiful rootical tunes. The album opener is the 1976 killer tune Vank Out, complete with a fine dub version mixed by Sylvan Morris. Next comes African Sister, which happens to be a rocking (extended) roots tune. Jah Golden Throne is a Peter Broggs classic from 1979 and is presented here in its extended form. The (extended) title track Never Forget Jah is the highlight on the album. Two cuts of The International Farmer are present here, one is the original vocal version, the other is the dub lick based on a later version. Rastafari Liveth is yet another Peter Broggs classic from the eighties, brought to you in the extended mix. Give Thanks is a pure gem, delivered inna deejay style.
This could have been a perfect Peter Broggs collection if some of the unreleased Studio One songs and some RAS tunes would have been included, but what is offered here is pure roots rock reggae !

Teacher & Mr. T.