Album review
Never Grow Old
The Maytals

Tracking list

  1. I'll never grow old
  2. Sweet sweet Jenny
  3. You are mine
  4. Matthew Mark
  5. My destination
  6. True love
  7. Just got to be
  8. Treat me bad
  9. Hallelujah
  10. Don't let
  11. War no more (aka Down by the riverside)
  12. Tell me you love me
  13. Six and seven books of Moses
  14. Four seasons (version 1)
  15. Four seasons (version 2)
  16. I'm gonna sit right down and cry (over you)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

At last available, the first ska album by The Maytals, recorded in 1962 and 1963 for producer C.S. Dodd. "Never Grow Old" features the original twelve tracks found on the original Coxsone album as well as four new bonus tracks compiled for this release.The sessions were recorded on one track, with the mighty Skatalites as the backing band (check out their double cd "Foundation Ska"). The front and back cd cover are adapted from the original lp, complete with extensive liner notes .
The Maytals consisted of Frederick "Toots" Hibbert, born 1945 at May Penn, Henry "Raleigh" Gordon, born St. Andrew, 1937, and Nathaniel "Jerry Mathias" McCarthy, born in Portland in 1939. In 1961 they called themselves The Vikings. Their first songs we're marked by a distinctly religious flavour. At that time (early '60's) ska was all the rage. Toots and The Maytals brought a rich revival sound, born out of Toots' church upbringing, to the studio on Brentford Road. The Maytals stayed at Studio One for about two years, before moving to Prince Buster. More information about (Toots and) The Maytals can be found in the review of "Pressure Drop..The Best Of".
On "Never Grow Old" you'll find the quick-tempo hit songs "Hallelujah", "War No More", I'll Never Grow Old", "Treat Me Bad", "Just Got To Be" and "My Destination", and the three ballads : "Are you mine" , "True love" and "Don't let" . In addition to these titles they recorded for C.S. Dodd a long list of others issued on such labels as D.Darling, N.D. Records and Studio One of which the popular "Six and seven books of Moses" and "Four Seasons" are also included on this cd.

Teacher & Mr. T.