New Beginning
Sphinx Records
April 28, 2008

Track list
  1. Thinking It's Safe
  2. True Love
  3. Own Two Feet
  4. Make Ends Meet with Luciano
  5. Once There Is Life
  6. Nothing New Under The Sun with Calton Coffie
  7. A Thin Line
  8. Money Strategy
  9. Time
  10. Who The Cap Fit
  11. Never Felt Like This
  12. Take A Change
  13. Travelling
  14. Existence Of Jah
  15. If I Had The World
  16. Angel A Mine
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
The biblical name Benaiah comes from a musician and warrior during King David's reign. It is also Hebrew name meaning "Built by God." The Benaiah band is a nice conscious roots and culture band providing a lot of lover's rock. On lead vocals is Joseph Benaiah, supported with harmonies by Renita "Nilajah" Emanuel. They have four albums to their credit (We Nah Give Up, Children of Israel, Time Eternal) and their latest effort is called 'New Beginning'.

The lead vocalist, Joseph Benaiah, played guitar with the Blues Busters. He also played guitar with the Debonnaires Band, which gave him the opportunity of playing guitar for the legendary Bob Marley & the Wailers. In 1984, Joseph continued his quest for perfecting his musical abilities and met Calton Coffie. The two became co-writers on the productions of "We Nah Give Up" and some tunes from "Children of Israel". As Calton Coffie moved on to become Inner Circle's lead singer, Joseph became the producer and musical director for Benaiah. Those longtime experiences make this album an enjoyable listening experience.

'New Beginning' is produced by Dean Fraser who has been referred to as the Quincy Jones of Reggae music, because of his sultry horn arrangements. Also featured on the album in combination style are Reggae Messenger, Luciano, on Make Ends Meet and Grammy-winning singer Calton Coffie doing a combination on the track Nothing New Under The Sun. Other songs I enjoyed are Thinking It's Safe and Travelling. It's positive as well as negative to say that Benaiah makes timeless music, if someone said they recorded this in 1995 I would believe it too. Musically they are not exploring any boundaries on this album, but you can't argue about the quality of it.

If you're searching for a well balanced reggae album with nice tunes and uplifting lyrics this will be your album, just don't expect anything spectacular. Just good ol' conscious lovers rock.