Album review
New Day & Things To Come
Big Mountain
HeartBeat Europe
July 15 - 2003

Tracking list

CD New day
  1. New Day
  2. Mama
  3. Tierra Indigena (with Los Alacranes)
  4. What Do We Mean To Each Other
  5. The Wind
  6. The House
  7. Straight To My Heart (with Warren Hill)
  8. Vibes Up Strong
  9. Do Right
  10. Baby Stay
CD Things To Come
  1. Jealousy
  2. Luckiest Guy
  3. Fun Is Fun
  4. One Small Change
  5. Island Of Love
  6. The Only One
  7. Rudy
  8. Rainbow People
  9. Praise Him
  10. Morning After
  11. Touched
  12. Hard To Love You
  13. First Cut Is The Deepest
  14. Visions
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Much like UB40, American reggae band Big Mountain brought a very commercialized version of Jamaican music to the American mainstream when their cover of Peter Frampton's 'Baby, I Love Your Way' reached the Top Ten in early 1994. Big Mountain was originally formed in San Diego as the Rainbow Warriors. After several years of dizzying lineups and two name changes - first to Shiloh and finally to Big Mountain - the group centralized around vocalist/guitarist Quino, with rhythm guitarist Jerome Cruz, drummers Gregory Blakney and Lance Rhodes, keyboard player Manfred Reinke, and bassist Lynn Copeland. That lineup released 'Wake Up' on the Quality label in 1992 and charted 'Touch My Light' early the following year. The single reached number 51 in America, but only one year later Big Mountain began to experiment with several different guitarists. After several changes, Tony Chin became available and joined Quino and Copeland with new additions Santa Davis, James Mcwhinney (percussion) and keyboard players Billy Stoll and Michael Hyde. During sessions for their second album, movie producer Ron Fair approached Big Mountain about recording a cover of 'Baby, I Love Your Way' for his upcoming movie 'Reality Bites'. Included on the soundtrack and the group's 1994 'Unity' album, the single reached number six in the U.S. and became a worldwide hit. Despite Big Mountain's success on the commercial pop charts, most of the reggae community remained faithful to the band. The group headlined two consecutive Reggae Sunsplash festivals in Jamaica during massive world tours that crisscrossed Europe, North and South America, Asia and Indonesia. Third album 'Resistance' was released in 1995, followed two years later by 'Free Up' and in 1999 the delivered 'Things To Come'.
The band's seventh album, "New Day", has a reggae and soul-tinged sound, and is destined to become a summertime crossover smash. It is toe tapping festival music at it's best, full of easy going grooves, and catchy melodies, custom made for dancing all night long. It's hard to pinpoint a standout among the tracks here, but highlights include Tierra Indigena, which features a guest appearance from Los Alacranes, and the dreamy pop oriented Baby Stay and our favourite tune Vibes Up Strong. With it's lush production, soaring harmonies, horn section accents, and most importantly solid, hook filled song writing, this is one of Big Mountain's most commercial albums to date. As a special treat the band's 1999 album "Things To Come" is included here as a bonus CD. This album sees Big Mountain in a more rootsier style and fashion, while the sound is more heavier than expected.
Good time, summer time music !

Teacher & Mr. T.