Album review
New Frontiers
DJ Hype presents The Ganja Kru
True Playa'z

Tracking list

  1. No fear
  2. Plague that never ends
  3. New frontiers
  4. Dense
  5. Magic
  6. This World (featuring DJ Daddy)
  7. Gone Are The Days (featuring Rude Bwoy Monty & Mary Joy)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : -/5 Backing : -/5 Production : -/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

"Jungle" is the term used in England when dancehall is mixed with hip-hop. The English mix these styles in a completely different way than Jamaicans and Americans. The main difference is the overlaid tripple- time drumbeats, which almost consistently come to you through the rapid-fire programmed drum. You're either going to love it or hate it. (From the review of Trojan Jungle 2 on this site) This CD showcases productions of the Ganja Kru. The Ganja Kru really rose to (well deserved) fame with last year's "Super Sharp Shooter EP". DJ Hype, Zinc and Pascal reached far beyond the ganja moods. Zinc's titletrack became more or less jungle's "Walk This Way". This new album is even more border-crossing, providing Zinc's phat straightforward dancefloor treatment, Pascal with his razor-edge dark-edged roughness and Hype as the leader of the pack and consciousness of the drum'n'bass massive. Hype's "Plague That Never Ends" is a warning to all copycats adn fake-junglists. Pascal's "New Frontier" is the prototype of "cut'n'paste" technique in a dark mood. Zinc's "No Fear" is a real stepper, and his "Dense" is really in the groove. "This world" featuring DJ Daddy is released as the single from the album, slow-paced drum'n'bass kicking off with DJ Hype's dog barking, and after that intro convincingly delivering the message of 'peace, love & unity'. The live drums and swinging bass-line emphasize the warning in this song. The Ganja Kru really stands out on this release.