Album review
New Oldies ~ I'm In The Mood For Moods
Lynn Taitt
Twolyn Records

Tracking list

  1. Y Mix
  2. Napoleon Solo
  3. Dream Time
  4. Bog Walk
  5. Condome
  6. Hard Life
  7. Roseann
  8. Napoleon Solo Guitar Instr.
  9. We All Are One
  10. She Can't Wine
  11. Happiness
  12. Just You
  13. Napoleon Dub
  14. Yak O
  15. Give Me A Break
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Born in Trinidad where he led a steel band, guitarist Lynn Taitt moved to Jamaica in 1962. He played in several bands, and even worked with The Skatalites. He finally broke through after forming the band 'Lynn Taitt & The Jets'. During the rocksteady era they were the foremost backing band, playing on a trailer load of classic rocksteady anthems for a variety of producers. With his then backup group The Jets he released his first solo album entitled "Rock Steady Greatest Hits" in the late sixties.
After some thirty years Canada-based Lynn Taitt delivers his second solo album on which he slighty returns to his first one as he remakes his classic instrumental smash Napoleon Solo in three different ways. But above all this is a very contemporary self-produced album filled with good music, including instrumentals as well as some vocal tracks (delivered by guest deejay Trevor Reed, Sophie Delomare, Noel Kerr and Lynn Taitt himself). From beginning to end Lynn Taitt takes you on a musical journey as he plays ska, rocksteady, soca, calypso, reggae and easy listening/mor instrumentals. No matter what musical style he performs Lynn Taitt showcases that he can master them all. A truly solid album from a great musician whose distinctive melodic picking style made his records immediately recognizable.

Teacher & Mr. T.