Album review
New Testament
The Rootsman
Third Eye Music
09 - 11 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. The Rootsman & DayJah - Faith
  2. The Rootsman & Sandeeno - Thinking Back In Time
  3. The Rootsman & Cudjoe Banton - Rocky Road
  4. The Rootsman & Earl Sixteen - Shelter From The Storm
  5. The Rootsman & Fowlie Don - Earth Rightful Ruler
  6. The Rootsman & U Brown - Walk And Talk
  7. The Rootsman & Daddy Freddy - Live Forever
  8. The Rootsman & Determine - Let's Be Friends
  9. The Rootsman & Mike Brooks - Higher Place
  10. The Rootsman & Jah Mason - Joy And Sorrow
  11. The Rootsman & Winston McAnuff - Sort Me Out
  12. The Rootsman & Bongo Chili - Action Alone
  13. The Rootsman & Bobby Blue - Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

'New Testament' is the new album of dub maniac The Rootsman from Bradford, UK. The set contains 13 tracks of a brand new style, created by the Rootsman featuring some of the finest Jamaican and UK artists like Daddy Freddy, Earl 16, Sandeeno, U Brown, Jah Mason, Determine and Mike Brooks.
The Rootsman has moved from a fairly traditional roots-reggae sound to an eclectic, experimental dub approach informed by African, Middle Eastern, and Asian sounds, as well as electronic dance music. Rootsman's debut CD "In Dub We Trust" was released in July 1995 and followed on from earlier experiments and contained dub reggae like never heard before. A myriad of diverse samples and beats all tied to a heavyweight rhythm section made this CD one of the most original to be released that year. Not only was dub mixed with the furious beats of jungle, the album also brought African, Arabian and Asian sounds into the mix. The Rootsman's second solo album proper "Into The Light" was released in September 1996 and included tracks recorded in Marrakech, Morocco and Luxor in Egypt. This set further developed the ideas contained on "In Dub We Trust" and was a deeper, more spiritual and meditative collection. "Rebirth", the long-awaited collaboration set with The Disciples was released in September 1997 and contained nu-skool digital dubs alongside vintage dub loops and samples. March 1998 saw the long-awaited release of Rootsman's third official solo set "52 Days To Timbuktu". This set was his most ambitious and experimental yet and further established Rootsman as the UK's leading experimental dub artist. June 1999 saw the long-awaited release of Rootsman's fourth official solo set "Realms Of The Unseen". This album was a more aggressive set than its' predecessors with Rootsman harnessing techno, jungle and hip hop loops alongside global influences and, of course, the usual reggae/dub/ragga foundation.
On "New Testament" the Rootsman offers some wicked outings by the aforementioned artists, delivered in a style that is best described as mid tempo reggae, blended with hip hop & R'n'B, dark dub sounds and a definite hypnotic feel all over. We have to admit that it took us some time before we could enjoy this album to the fullest, 'cause this is no 'everyday' sound you hear here. You'll have to grow into the music that is offered here, but then... it really grabs you! We're not gonna describe the tracks offered here, because it's a truly unique selection of 'Rootsman' tunes, each of them having its merit and each and every track being a gem in its own way.
Check it out and enjoy!

Teacher & Mr. T.