Yaad & Abroad
Nando Griffiths
One Jam Music
October 28, 2012

Yaad and Abroad - Nando Griffiths Track list
  1. Ride All Night feat. Oxxygen & Paashot
  2. Rude feat. Michie One & Paashot
  3. Look At All These Girls
  4. Her Body
  5. Say What You Wanna
  6. Get Better
  7. Hard To Say
  8. Your Love feat. Millie Skye
  9. Some Other Guy feat. Paashot
  10. My Everything
  11. These Words
  12. Talk To Me feat. Paashot
  13. Feel Like feat. Lana Corney
  14. In The Workplace feat. Kenji
  15. Like A Song feat. Paashot
  16. Hear My Voice
  17. Team Jamaica feat. Oxxygen
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 8
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Fast-rising Jamaican singer Nando Griffiths, son of legendary Jamaican jockey Winston "Fanna" Griffiths, started to attract attention in 2010 with his first chartbuster, the single "Look At All These Girls", which was followed by more hit tunes including "Ride All Night", "My Everything" and "Get Better", his first number one song in Jamaica. And now there's the release of his debut album aptly entitled "Yaad & Abroad", as it represents the voice of a migrant Jamaican youth who remains true to his roots while embracing the cultures of his home away from home.

Nando Griffiths spent the formative years of his youth in Jamaica, the land of his birth, where he got grounded in classic foundation reggae listening to artists such as Bob Marley and Beres Hammond. During that time, he also developed a love for an eclectic array of music, including R&B, pop, and jazz. After graduating from Jamaica College, he journeyed to New York City, the global melting pot, to attend Baruch College of the City University of New York where he earned a BBA degree in Finance and Economics. Additionally, he sang in the school choir and in a band of extremely talented urban-pop musicians, and formalized his musical training by also completing a Minor in Music Theory. Nando Griffiths is a trained singer and songwriter who has performed extensively for diverse audiences.

The "Yaad & Abroad" album can be roughly divided into three parts. First the listener is treated to a dancehall oriented part, which is followed by contemporary reggae songs and then urban-pop oriented tracks. The collaboration with Oxxygen an Paashot, "Ride All Night", a recent number one hit in the Jamaican dancehall chart, is an infectious dancehall tune with strong soca elements. "Rude", actually a soca-reggaeton hybrid done in combination with Michie One & Paashot, keeps the vibes flowing throughout. More or less the same goes for "Look At All these Girls". All three songs are real club bangers, strongly reminiscent of tunes known from Kevin Lyttle, while "Her Body" is delivered in the same vein as most of Wayne Wonder's dancehall efforts. Not a bad comparison we would say.

Then it's time for 'one-drop reggae' to drop in, with one of our personal favourites, the lovers lament "Say What You Wanna", getting things going in fine style. With the reality tune "Getting Better" he bigs up single mothers who struggle to provide for their kids and still maintain their dignity. A big conscious tune truly worth hearing. Then it's again time for a bunch of solid songs that deal with affairs of the heart including "Hard To Say", "Your Love", "Some Other Guy", the recent hit song "My Everything", and the wonderful "These Words".

"Feel Like", featuring the production work from Deewaan, a hot young producer from the UK who also produced the first 4 tracks of this album, goes into urban-pop territory. He's also the producer of the R&B-flavored "In The Workplace" and the poppy "Like A Song". Although these are the kind of tunes that might not appeal to the real dancehall and/or reggae fan, it's obvious that Nando Griffiths has the ability to seemingly effortless cross genres. This is also showcased on the gospel tingled reggae tune "Hear My Voice" and the pompous sounding bonus track "Team Jamaica", which refers to the Jamaican athletes who took part in the 2012 Olympic Games.

Nando Griffiths not only delivers a convincing debut album, he also shows that he can handle multiple genres to full effect.