Album review
Nice n' Up
Native Elements
Native Elements

Tracking list

  1. World people
  2. Live & direct
  3. Nice n' up
  4. Why
  5. Too wrong
  6. Weapons
  7. Live & direct (dub)
  8. Why (dub)
  9. Too wrong (dub)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

Released in winter 1996, the debut album from the Bay area based Native Elements features 6 songs plus three dubs. Production credits go to the band and Ralston Grant of the Twinkle Brothers. All songs are original tunes, no recycling here ! The distinctive vocal delivery of Hozea is smoothly backed by female vocalists Tamara and Karen. Don't expect hard driven dancehall riddims, Native Elements produce a sound known as "one drop stylee", and they do it pretty well ! Lyrically Native Elements focusses on roots and culture. This debut makes a solid impression and is a promise for the (near ?) future.

Teacher & Mr. T.